Spice Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2001
Not my favorite. I found that the cake was very bland. Not enough spices,and tasted very eggie :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
It tasted good, but it looked scary when it was done. I don't think I beat the frosting enough, even though I did it for 40 minutes. So after I frosted the cake, it looked very frothy an hour later. Two 9" pans work well with this recipe, I would just use different frosting. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Acton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Danvers, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
This must be good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
This recipe was a failure. It smelled bette than it tasted. It didn't have enough taste to it. I thought it was bad, but maybe it's an aquired taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This cake is amazing! I have to admit, I've never made it with this frosting, I always use "Allspice Cream Cheese Frosting" found also on the wonderful website. I can't tell you how many times I've made it, for many different people, and it's always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Verdun, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I tried this recipe with the Cream Cheese Frosting II (basic) with 1 tsp cinnamon. It tastes really great with the extra spice added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I baked this cake for my Husband's birthday...It turned out great...I didn't need to add cornstarch...It also tasted like pumkin too....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ejmurphy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I was really surprised when I found this recipe.. it's almost EXACTLY like the one I make. The only difference is I use 1 full teaspoon of all of the spices, and only two eggs. I also serve it with cream cheese frosting.. it's always gone over GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal River, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
The frosting would go nice on a regular cake but not like a bundt cake as shown, the frosting is creative but the cake tastes very bland. I agree witht he review that said it smells good when baking, the taste leaves a LOT to be desired.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lewdude
Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. It came out flat so i figured id cut it in half and make a layered cake, and i tried a piece but did not care for the taste. I am a baker who prefers handful and dash to cup and teaspoon but i know spice cakes are tricky so i followed it EXACTLY. the only thing this recipe was good for was the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States