Spice Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2000
I made this cakea coupleweeks ago and everyone loved it. My husband's friends said that it was a "perfect cake". No frosting is required. It tastes good without. If you were to use a frosting I would probably suggest a creamcheese or sourcream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2001
THis is a TOP receipe and kids absoulutley LOVE it! I know. I'm a kid. And it really easy. I made it all by myself!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
This is a great old fashioned kind of cake you don't see much anymore. Some of the other people who did reviews said it was too dry and wasn't sweet enough. I liked that it wasn't too sweet, and I found the texture to be so much better than those squishy box mix cakes. It doesn't need a frosting, I found it was fantastic with a dusting of powdered sugar and a little cinnamon on top. I'm going to let this sit overnight and have a piece or two tomorrow. It'll be perfect with a cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
This cake is a wonderful cake, it is very simple I have made it now as it stands about 4 and I still have people, that ask me to make it for them... just because they love it, it have never been too dry not one of the times that I made it. It is a very simple cake, but good, it can maybe be a morning cake with some coffee or tea. I would think, also I made it with a homemade cream cheese frosting... just wonderful...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
very good, spices are just right. i did add 2 eggs instead of 1, and put a box of vanilla pudding in the mix. It was nice and moist. I used cream cheese icing on it. The family loved it. The cake was gone in one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This is my favorite cake on this site so far! I love it! It is such a wonderful cake to serve with coffee. I followed the recipe exactly and I don't think it needs any changes at all. I also never have a problem with it coming out too dry. Mine is nice and moist. A few times when I wanted something extra, I added some cream cheese frosting on top. That was absolutely delicious as well! I make this cake at least once a week in my house. Everyone loves it. Thanks so much for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This is a great cake! After reading the reviews I was a bit concerned about the "dryness" and "hard" but I added 1/4 of a stick of butter to the mix and it made the cake perfect. Not too dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
My family and I absolutely LOVE this cake!! I make this all the time now and my 5 kids fight my husband and I for the last piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Moist and easy to make. I doubled the spices - and next time I may use espresso instead of regular coffee for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dominique Grinnell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Playa Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
The spices worked well together. This is good for coffee, but I added an egg, didn't overbeat, and it was still on the dry side. Next time (if there is a next time) I may add a half cup of applesauce or even mayonnaise. When it had cooled, I poured a caramel sauce (from Caramel frosting VI on AR) over the top of it which combatted the dryness of the cake a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States