Spice Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
This cake is a wonderful cake, it is very simple I have made it now as it stands about 4 and I still have people, that ask me to make it for them... just because they love it, it have never been too dry not one of the times that I made it. It is a very simple cake, but good, it can maybe be a morning cake with some coffee or tea. I would think, also I made it with a homemade cream cheese frosting... just wonderful...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
This is a great old fashioned kind of cake you don't see much anymore. Some of the other people who did reviews said it was too dry and wasn't sweet enough. I liked that it wasn't too sweet, and I found the texture to be so much better than those squishy box mix cakes. It doesn't need a frosting, I found it was fantastic with a dusting of powdered sugar and a little cinnamon on top. I'm going to let this sit overnight and have a piece or two tomorrow. It'll be perfect with a cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2000
I made this cakea coupleweeks ago and everyone loved it. My husband's friends said that it was a "perfect cake". No frosting is required. It tastes good without. If you were to use a frosting I would probably suggest a creamcheese or sourcream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
very good, spices are just right. i did add 2 eggs instead of 1, and put a box of vanilla pudding in the mix. It was nice and moist. I used cream cheese icing on it. The family loved it. The cake was gone in one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This is my favorite cake on this site so far! I love it! It is such a wonderful cake to serve with coffee. I followed the recipe exactly and I don't think it needs any changes at all. I also never have a problem with it coming out too dry. Mine is nice and moist. A few times when I wanted something extra, I added some cream cheese frosting on top. That was absolutely delicious as well! I make this cake at least once a week in my house. Everyone loves it. Thanks so much for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2001
THis is a TOP receipe and kids absoulutley LOVE it! I know. I'm a kid. And it really easy. I made it all by myself!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
this came out very dry-the taste was ok. Will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2000
Good flavor, but on the dry side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Excellent flavor...just what I was looking for. I did think it was a bit dry, but not too bad though. I don't like coffee, so I just used orange juice instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pommerenk Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2002
I was very meticulous in the preparation of this recipe yet this cake was dry and tasted terrible. My husband's favorite is spice cake, and he told me to throw the cake away as he would not eat any more of it. It lacked the proper combination of spice flavors and had an odd aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States