Spice Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2000
I made this cakea coupleweeks ago and everyone loved it. My husband's friends said that it was a "perfect cake". No frosting is required. It tastes good without. If you were to use a frosting I would probably suggest a creamcheese or sourcream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2000
This cake was on the dry side, and it seemed to be missing some other spice. It wasn't real bad but I don't think I will be adding it to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2000
Good flavor, but on the dry side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2001
THis is a TOP receipe and kids absoulutley LOVE it! I know. I'm a kid. And it really easy. I made it all by myself!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
The texture of this cake was really nice and it came out moist. I'm not sure but I think it was the coffee flavor that my family didn't like very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2002
I was very meticulous in the preparation of this recipe yet this cake was dry and tasted terrible. My husband's favorite is spice cake, and he told me to throw the cake away as he would not eat any more of it. It lacked the proper combination of spice flavors and had an odd aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
This is a great old fashioned kind of cake you don't see much anymore. Some of the other people who did reviews said it was too dry and wasn't sweet enough. I liked that it wasn't too sweet, and I found the texture to be so much better than those squishy box mix cakes. It doesn't need a frosting, I found it was fantastic with a dusting of powdered sugar and a little cinnamon on top. I'm going to let this sit overnight and have a piece or two tomorrow. It'll be perfect with a cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
this came out very dry-the taste was ok. Will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
This cake is a wonderful cake, it is very simple I have made it now as it stands about 4 and I still have people, that ask me to make it for them... just because they love it, it have never been too dry not one of the times that I made it. It is a very simple cake, but good, it can maybe be a morning cake with some coffee or tea. I would think, also I made it with a homemade cream cheese frosting... just wonderful...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This cake had a nice flavor but came out dry and very dense. I would make it again if I could figure out how to make it more moist and with a lighter texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Spice Cake

See how to make a pumpkin spice cake with a simple glaze.

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States