Spice Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
this came out very dry-the taste was ok. Will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
This is a great old fashioned kind of cake you don't see much anymore. Some of the other people who did reviews said it was too dry and wasn't sweet enough. I liked that it wasn't too sweet, and I found the texture to be so much better than those squishy box mix cakes. It doesn't need a frosting, I found it was fantastic with a dusting of powdered sugar and a little cinnamon on top. I'm going to let this sit overnight and have a piece or two tomorrow. It'll be perfect with a cup of tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2002
I was very meticulous in the preparation of this recipe yet this cake was dry and tasted terrible. My husband's favorite is spice cake, and he told me to throw the cake away as he would not eat any more of it. It lacked the proper combination of spice flavors and had an odd aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2002
The texture of this cake was really nice and it came out moist. I'm not sure but I think it was the coffee flavor that my family didn't like very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2001
THis is a TOP receipe and kids absoulutley LOVE it! I know. I'm a kid. And it really easy. I made it all by myself!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2000
Good flavor, but on the dry side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2000
This cake was on the dry side, and it seemed to be missing some other spice. It wasn't real bad but I don't think I will be adding it to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2000
I made this cakea coupleweeks ago and everyone loved it. My husband's friends said that it was a "perfect cake". No frosting is required. It tastes good without. If you were to use a frosting I would probably suggest a creamcheese or sourcream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States