Spice Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
The spices worked well together. This is good for coffee, but I added an egg, didn't overbeat, and it was still on the dry side. Next time (if there is a next time) I may add a half cup of applesauce or even mayonnaise. When it had cooled, I poured a caramel sauce (from Caramel frosting VI on AR) over the top of it which combatted the dryness of the cake a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
My family and I absolutely LOVE this cake!! I make this all the time now and my 5 kids fight my husband and I for the last piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This is a great cake! After reading the reviews I was a bit concerned about the "dryness" and "hard" but I added 1/4 of a stick of butter to the mix and it made the cake perfect. Not too dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I have to change my review on this. I reviewed this immediately after baking and it was very good. However, an hour later my cake was as hard as advanced calculus! I'm not sure what went wrong but I had to throw out my whole cake. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This is my favorite cake on this site so far! I love it! It is such a wonderful cake to serve with coffee. I followed the recipe exactly and I don't think it needs any changes at all. I also never have a problem with it coming out too dry. Mine is nice and moist. A few times when I wanted something extra, I added some cream cheese frosting on top. That was absolutely delicious as well! I make this cake at least once a week in my house. Everyone loves it. Thanks so much for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Excellent flavor...just what I was looking for. I did think it was a bit dry, but not too bad though. I don't like coffee, so I just used orange juice instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pommerenk Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Moist and easy to make. I doubled the spices - and next time I may use espresso instead of regular coffee for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dominique Grinnell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Playa Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
very good, spices are just right. i did add 2 eggs instead of 1, and put a box of vanilla pudding in the mix. It was nice and moist. I used cream cheese icing on it. The family loved it. The cake was gone in one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This cake had a nice flavor but came out dry and very dense. I would make it again if I could figure out how to make it more moist and with a lighter texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
This cake is a wonderful cake, it is very simple I have made it now as it stands about 4 and I still have people, that ask me to make it for them... just because they love it, it have never been too dry not one of the times that I made it. It is a very simple cake, but good, it can maybe be a morning cake with some coffee or tea. I would think, also I made it with a homemade cream cheese frosting... just wonderful...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

How to Prep Cake Pans

Watch how to properly prepare a cake pan in two easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States