Spice Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
The spices worked well together. This is good for coffee, but I added an egg, didn't overbeat, and it was still on the dry side. Next time (if there is a next time) I may add a half cup of applesauce or even mayonnaise. When it had cooled, I poured a caramel sauce (from Caramel frosting VI on AR) over the top of it which combatted the dryness of the cake a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
My family and I absolutely LOVE this cake!! I make this all the time now and my 5 kids fight my husband and I for the last piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This is a great cake! After reading the reviews I was a bit concerned about the "dryness" and "hard" but I added 1/4 of a stick of butter to the mix and it made the cake perfect. Not too dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I have to change my review on this. I reviewed this immediately after baking and it was very good. However, an hour later my cake was as hard as advanced calculus! I'm not sure what went wrong but I had to throw out my whole cake. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
This is my favorite cake on this site so far! I love it! It is such a wonderful cake to serve with coffee. I followed the recipe exactly and I don't think it needs any changes at all. I also never have a problem with it coming out too dry. Mine is nice and moist. A few times when I wanted something extra, I added some cream cheese frosting on top. That was absolutely delicious as well! I make this cake at least once a week in my house. Everyone loves it. Thanks so much for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Excellent flavor...just what I was looking for. I did think it was a bit dry, but not too bad though. I don't like coffee, so I just used orange juice instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pommerenk Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Moist and easy to make. I doubled the spices - and next time I may use espresso instead of regular coffee for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Playa Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
very good, spices are just right. i did add 2 eggs instead of 1, and put a box of vanilla pudding in the mix. It was nice and moist. I used cream cheese icing on it. The family loved it. The cake was gone in one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This cake had a nice flavor but came out dry and very dense. I would make it again if I could figure out how to make it more moist and with a lighter texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2004
This cake is a wonderful cake, it is very simple I have made it now as it stands about 4 and I still have people, that ask me to make it for them... just because they love it, it have never been too dry not one of the times that I made it. It is a very simple cake, but good, it can maybe be a morning cake with some coffee or tea. I would think, also I made it with a homemade cream cheese frosting... just wonderful...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States