Spice Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2001
These are absolutely delicious -- I went on a cookie-making binge and tried over 25 different cookie recipes; this one was among my very favorites. Soft, sweet, and unusually flavored. If you like spice/molasses cookies, you will like these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2001
This is the best spice bar I've ever tasted! Love chewy cookies and these are moist also. One of my new favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
I THOUGHT THESE WERE YUMMY!! ALMOST LIKE A HERMIT BUT I THINK I WILL BAKE THEM 5 MIN. LESS CAUSE THEY WERE A LITTLE HARDER THAN I LIKE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
tasted great, smelled great...what did I do wrong? I baked 20 minutes and they were harder they rocks. Seem they need more of some kind of liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
I think the trick with these is not to overbake. My first batch were bricks but since the flavor was great I tried again and simply watched them more closely in the oven. So without altering the ingredients they turned out great after 18 minutes of baking. (Probably could have gone 20 but I was nervous, hee hee.) Very tasty. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
If you like a good, spicy cookie, this is the one. Even after adjusting the spices (1 teas. cinnamon, 1/2 teas. ginger, 1/4 teas. cloves), it is still plenty spicy. I did find the dough too dry and added 1 egg to the mixture. Baked 17 minutes and they are moist and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Such a wonderful spice bar! I agree with some of the others to undercook is the key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
This one is a "WINNER" They are very easy to make & at first they don't look like their going to turn-out like anything but crumbs but when you pat them down in your baking-pan & bake WOW are they ever delicious, we only had to bake 20 min & they were done! After they were baked & still warm in the pan, we poked holes in cake w/a regular table fork so the glaze/icing could seep through the cake b/f cutting. What a treat!!! Thanks for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taber, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I followed other reviewer's advice and added an egg and watched how long I left them in the oven. When they first came out, they tasted really good. It was odd, though, because after a few hours, they didn't taste as good. It became something of a chore to finish them off. So.. maybe skip the egg? Also, I didn't use half the icing and they were plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I also underbaked it a few minutes, and they turned out fabulous! Just like a soft molasses cookie. The kids loved it too. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Danube, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Granite Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States