Spice Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2001
I made these the other day when I had a craving for spice donuts. I used cider instead of milk and they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
This recipe is delicious and super easy. They are just like regular donut holes, but without the rising time!! Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
This was quick easy and good. My kids liked being the shakers. I used the Pampered Chef Cinnamon blen in place of the cinnamon and nutmeg and it was good, though next time I might put a bit less in the shaker bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
Easy and hard to mess up. Tasted very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Ridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Tasty! But didnt hold their shape well... I think I'll need to use more milk next time. But easy and fast to make for that donut craving! Here's a hint: if you're deep frying them on the stove top... make sure you do a couple test runs... because they can brown fast. I found MED-LOW was the best for cooking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
These were yummy. They are light and fluffy inside, crispy outside- almost like cake doughnut holes, but not quite. Very easy, minimal mess. I gently rolled the dough between my palms to give them better texture, and they still puffed up beautifully and held together nicely. Next time I will use a little less mace since it tends to be overpowering. The sugar coating would make these REALLY delicious with less cinnamon and a little cardamom added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I never liked cake doughnuts but since I had a pot of oil to use I decided to try this recipe. These are the lightest cake doughnuts I've ever made. We LOVE them! I used pumpkin pie spice and cinnamon in mine. After mixing I let the dough sit in the bowl for 15 minutes before deep frying so the BP could work. The dough was nice and puffy even raw. Instead of dropping spoonfulls in the hot oil I wet my fingertips slightly and gently pulled the dough flat-ish. Much easier to cook this way. Not only do they stay turned over when you turn them, but you can be sure the insides won't be doughy like fat golf balls can be. I dipped them in a very thin glaze. I've already eaten 4!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
I have made this before and really liked these! Made again today---My only complain is that some of them were not done in the middle (definately use teaspoon size when dropping in hot oil as suggested in recipe). But otherwise, great w/ cinn/sugar and pwdrd sugar! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patrick Luce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Photo by penny p.
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
These were so easy and great! I made the dough the night before and left it in the fridge. I rolled the dough into small balls before frying, and they all came out looking uniform and perfect. I coated some in cinnamon sugar, and some with the glaze from the Crispy Creamy Doughnuts (also on this website). They were fantastic! **NOTE**--I kept a close watch on the thermometer, and these cooked PERFECTLY at 370-375 degrees. Thanks Mary for a great recipe! Everyone loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I liked the ones that I made a bit bigger. The small ones had more crunch than soft inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Spice Coffee Syrup

See how to make a delicious homemade pumpkin coffee syrup.

Spicy Pumpkin Spice Latte

See how easy it is to make your favorite fall latte at home.

Cinnamon, Spice, and Everything Nice Cookies

Delight your taste buds with the surprising bursts of cinnamon in these cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States