Spence's Pesto Chicken Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
unfortunately I did not have the artichokes. but Made it anyway, it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Lou
Home Town: Pine Plains, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Spence's Pesto Chicken Pasta Haiku: "This IS elegant. Flavorful, vibrant colors. A couple small tweaks." I was doubtful of putting that many "special" veggies all together, thinking their flavors would compete w/ one another, but it turned out to be a lovely dish. I didn't have quite as many mushrooms, and I had to sub hearts of palm for the artichoke hearts (close enough); I also added a handful of diced onion to the initial saute. Otherwise I was completely faithful to the recipe and was pleasantly surprised w/ the end result. When I make this again, I plan to increase the spinach, and stir a bit of the pasta water into the chick/vegg mixture for additional moisture b/c it was a bit dry. (Or instead of just tossing the linguine w/ the pesto, split the pesto into the chicken/vegg too.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Awesome! instead of peppers I did sundried tomatoes and I actually forgot the spinach but it was better because there was already a lot going on flavor wise! Oh, and instead of whole cloves of garlic I sliced them so as to disperse the garlic flavor! VERY VERY good! *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This was pretty good, but didn't stand out as amazing. I did not have the roasted red peppers so I left that out. Also, I used canned mushrooms instead of fresh, using the liquid from it to cook the chicken. I think it worked out well so the dish wasn't dry. I was happy the kids liked it even though it had lots of interesting vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This was wonderful! I had to make changes because I didn't have all the ingredients. I used frozen spinach instead of fresh - still yummy - and I used broccoli and fresh red bell pepper. This will be one of our regulars. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Griffin, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I've been making something very similar to this for years - my recipe came from Food & Wine. To give it a little kick I add chopped sun-dried tomatoes and sun-dried tomato pesto instead of the basil pesto, but both are good. This is one yummy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I am confused: at the top it says 4 servings (?only one chicken breast) and at the bottom it says divide pasta onto 2 plates. Which is correct?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This was good but could have been better. I used the exact ingredients but felt the cooking time for the chicken pieces was way too long. Came out dry. Next time I would shorten the chicken cooking time to 3-4 min. then toss in the balance of ingredients for a total of 10 min. It lacked some acidity or oomph. Next time I will broil some lemon halves and allow each diner to squeeze to their taste. Will make again but with adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Brillion, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This is fantastic! I have always made it with chicken, pesto and leek, but this version has got style!! The plain version has always been a hit with my kids, but hubby and I love the additions. Next time I make it, I will leave out the mushrooms, not because I don't like them, but my kids complain too much :) 5 out of 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummy mummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This was good, all the ingredients worked really well together but it lacked flavor. I marinated my chicken in olive oil, garlic and parmessn cheese all day but I wish I had allowed more time for the mushroom, artichokes and peppers to really bring out there flavor while cooking but since the pasta was done I couldn't hold off any longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuJuMum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States