Spence's Pesto Chicken Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Spence's Pesto Chicken Pasta Haiku: "This IS elegant. Flavorful, vibrant colors. A couple small tweaks." I was doubtful of putting that many "special" veggies all together, thinking their flavors would compete w/ one another, but it turned out to be a lovely dish. I didn't have quite as many mushrooms, and I had to sub hearts of palm for the artichoke hearts (close enough); I also added a handful of diced onion to the initial saute. Otherwise I was completely faithful to the recipe and was pleasantly surprised w/ the end result. When I make this again, I plan to increase the spinach, and stir a bit of the pasta water into the chick/vegg mixture for additional moisture b/c it was a bit dry. (Or instead of just tossing the linguine w/ the pesto, split the pesto into the chicken/vegg too.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This was wonderful! I had to make changes because I didn't have all the ingredients. I used frozen spinach instead of fresh - still yummy - and I used broccoli and fresh red bell pepper. This will be one of our regulars. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Griffin, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
Awesome! instead of peppers I did sundried tomatoes and I actually forgot the spinach but it was better because there was already a lot going on flavor wise! Oh, and instead of whole cloves of garlic I sliced them so as to disperse the garlic flavor! VERY VERY good! *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I am confused: at the top it says 4 servings (?only one chicken breast) and at the bottom it says divide pasta onto 2 plates. Which is correct?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
The reviews helped me to tweak this recipe to make it really zing. I used skinless, boneless thighs instead of breasts so that the chicken had more flavor and moisture. When cooking, I started out by browning the mushrooms to give them added flavor. Then I tossed them into a bowl with the chopped garlic, peppers, and artichokes and added them altogether with the chicken after it had browned for five minutes. Later, I added 1/2 cup of dry white wine and half the pesto to the simmering vegetables. It turned out very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I've been making something very similar to this for years - my recipe came from Food & Wine. To give it a little kick I add chopped sun-dried tomatoes and sun-dried tomato pesto instead of the basil pesto, but both are good. This is one yummy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daniak04
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
My husband and I loved this recipe!! I tweeked it a little because of the ingredients I had on hand. I didnt have any roasted peppers or artichoke hearts. I added finely diced red bell peppers, diced tomatoes, and mushrooms in with the same pan I had cooked the chicken and garlic in, and fried it for a few minutes, until fragrant. I wanted the excess water of the tomatoes out so I kept the stove on high until all the water evaporated and stirred occasionally. I added the spinach at the end and it turned out to be amazing! Also I took one cup of heavy cream and heated it on the stove until it was reduced to half, and then mixed it with the pesto, it was the perfect pesto cream sauce! I mixed the pesto cream sauce with the linguini and topped it off with the chicken mixture, it looked and tasted absolutley amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Great taste and very easy. Tried sun-dried tomatoes instead of the roasted red peppers... was a great compliment to the basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D-Man and Pivo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I made this recipe as a salad, turned out really good! I used Fusilli pasta and made the Pesto myself. I browned the chicken breast (whole) in a frying pan and put it in the oven for 15 minutes til done, that made it really juicy. Then I cut it into bite size pieces. I also used less garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHINYHAPPYRAYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bedburg, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
No mushrooms, added onions, and used about 20oz of chicken. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandaz13

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Chicken and Sausage Orzo Pasta

The orzo pasta in this chicken and sausage recipe is cooked risotto-style.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States