Spelt Flour Bread Machine Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This doesn't compare to my wheat challah, but since I can't eat wheat anymore, this challah is very very good. Nice, light and moist, but definitely has that "cake-like" challah quality. I baked it in the bread machine using the 2lb setting and light crust, and was very happy with the result. This recipe is a keeper, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Excellent Recipe! I left out the xanthan gum, since I have no clue what that is, so I didn't have it in my house. I have never made bread with olive oil, so I was a bit nervous, so I used 1/4 cup (maybe a little more) of smart balance (the actual hard butter, not the oil in the bottle. Also, the only Spelt flour that I had, was Organic Whole Spelt All Purpose Flour, so I used 4 cups of it. I put it on the WW bread cycle of my bread machine, and chose a light crust cycle. It was HEAVENLY!!! Light, and airy, YUMMM! It tasted even better than it smelled (I kept checking to see if it was ready since it smelled AMAZING)! Definitely going to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Excellent bread! I used four cups of fresh ground spelt and no xanthan gum. I used the dough cycle on my breadmaker, and then raised it in two smaller loaf pans until double and baked at 350 for 25 minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
OMGosh this was by far the best spelt recipe I have found. I used 4 cups of whole grain spelt flour that I had I ground in my vitamix, I didn't use the xanthan gum and it was fabulous without it. I removed the dough used a little flour kneeded very slightly just enough to shape and put it straight into a loaf pan into a slightly cracked oven at 200 degrees for 30 mins to rise and then increased temp to 350 degrees and cooked for 30 minutes. This is an absolute keeper for our family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mo Merrill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I used only whole grain spelt and put the dough into a bread pan to rise and cook. I used the rest of the ingredients as listed in the recipe. It is soooooo good and received thumbs up from even my pickiest eater. My husband has allergies to wheat (luckily not gluten), so this is a great option for our family. This is the 5th recipe that I have tried and it beats all those others hands down. Thanks for a wonderful recipe : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
NOT GLUTEN FREE, NO CELIACS! OK, sorry. Nothing against this recipe. I haven't tried it, so I gave 5 stars since that's what it has right now. I saw someone saying they made this for a Celiac relative, and calling it GF, and it's not. It's not regular wheat, and someone with a wheat allergy or sensitivity may do fine with it (but don't take my word for it, check with that individual and/or your doctor), but it *does* still have gluten in it and that exposure can still be dangerous for true celiacs. Wishing all good health!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Love this recipe. I don't braid it. I shape it into a loaf on the counter with a little more spelt so it doesn't stick and through it in a bread pan. Let is rise in the oven at 200 F with the door cracked for 25 minutes and then cook it for 30 minutes at 350. Perfect loaf every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
The first time I made this it didn't rise very well. This time I warmed the water in the microwave for 30 seconds and I sifted (actually wisked) the xanthan gum into the flour. It rose beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This recipe is great! I have only recently started making bread and have only used the Bread maker, never the oven. I was so happy with how this turned out, much better than anything I've tried. The changes I made: No Sugar, I used a little bit of Agave syrup to keep things natural. No xanthan gum and I used Spelt and Whole Wheat, as I didn't have whole wheat spelt. I also crushed 2 cloves of garlic in the egg to glaze over top. Finally only needed 30 mins in the oven. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I just loved this bread turned out great. I did change it a bit I put in 2 cups whole wheat in place of the whole grain spelt flour as I had no whole grain spelt flour. I skipped the xanthan gum and it didn't seem to matter. I am keeping this recipe it is the best one I have yet found for the bread maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States