Spelt Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
This turned out great! I had never made spelt bread and, after searching on the net, I discovered that it's supposed to be difficult to make come out right. This came out in my bread machine better than the white and wheat recipes I'd used. I used the "Quick" setting, which had 2 risings, instead of the "Basic" setting, which had 3 risings in order to cut down on kneading. Delicious! Beth, I hope you've posted your muffin and brownie recipes too--I'll search! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
I have been trying to find a good spelt flour bread recipe for awhile. This turned out excellent. I used skim milk instead of rice milk and added 5 tablespoons of cracked grains (flax, rye, millet, etc). I used the quick bread cycle and selected light crust on my bread machine. Then I buttered the crust as soon as it was done and put it in an airtight container to soften the crust. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
This bread turned out well. We often buy spelt bread from the health food store for my child who is allergic to wheat. He often dislikes the store bought loaves as tough & tasteless. He devoured this bread. Sliced thin it was easy to handle, tender, and moist. Cost much less than the store bought loaves. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Palmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Celeste, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
This is the tastiest, moistest spelt bread I have EVER had. Better than the bakery. After reading other reviews, I put mine on the quick bread cycle, which on my machine is called the "cake" cycle for 10 minutes until it beeped and I scraped the edges down. I then realized I had probably selected the wrong cycle, and switched it to the "rapid" cycle which bakes for 1:50 minutes. This turned out a moist, beautiful loaf that could easily be mistaken for white bread, were it not for the nutty flavor of the spelt, and the sheer goodness of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
My son is allergic to wheat and we have been struggling to find a bread he will eat. He really misses bread! This is it. He loves it and will even eat it 1-2 days later. We use almond milk(he hates rice milk) and have used honey or stevia instead of sugar. It is a heavy dense loaf, but slices nice thinly and doesn't crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NicnNolsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
A nice dense loaf. I used soy milk instead of rice milk, otherwise followed recipe exactly. I'll play with this a little to try to get it to rise a little more. But excellent recipe. Kids and parents alike gobbled it up. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I didn't have rice milk so I used skim and made it in the breadmaker. It didn't rise, but I'll experiment using my manufacturer's troubleshooting suggestions and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I used a bread maker and mine didn't rise all that high. But maybe that's typical of spelt bread? Tasted alright though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
We just found out my son is allergic to wheat (along with many other things), so I'm desperately searching for recipes that fit his new diet. I've never made spelt bread before, and I've not yet bought spelt bread from the store. This bread seems a little heavy and dense, but I guess a loaf of its whole wheat counterpart would be the same way. It tastes fine, like wheat, but I wish it was lighter. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
this is a great recipe for proportions i just upgrade the quality of ingredients to make it a super healthy bread! I use almond milk, hemp milk or coconut milk whatever i have in fridge, raw honey, unrefined salt and coconut oil! I have also started adding one egg and 1/2 tsp less yeast and that helps this bread rise really well, otherwise you often end up with a very dense loaf when using spelt. I have also used my revised recipe to make hot dog and hamburger buns!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States