Spelt Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Thank you for sharing this recipe! This was so much tastier than the store bought ones, and so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
This loaf felt like a brick when I pulled it out of my breadmaker! I wouldn't use this bridge for sandwiches but it was easy to slice and made lovely toast. I used 2 cups white spelt and 2 cups wholemeal spelt which may be the reason my results weren't as good as other reviewers'. I added 2 tsp bread improver and used skim milk instead of rice milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
EXCELLENT!!! I made this recipe in my breadmaker and it turned out FANTASTIC!!!! Thank you so much for the recipe. it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
The consistency was wonderful, our children gobbled up every slice quickly. Easy to make, great typical spelt taste, made a perfect slice of toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisandreasings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
My son is allergic to wheat and we have been struggling to find a bread he will eat. He really misses bread! This is it. He loves it and will even eat it 1-2 days later. We use almond milk(he hates rice milk) and have used honey or stevia instead of sugar. It is a heavy dense loaf, but slices nice thinly and doesn't crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NicnNolsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I didn't have rice milk so I used skim and made it in the breadmaker. It didn't rise, but I'll experiment using my manufacturer's troubleshooting suggestions and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
This is the tastiest, moistest spelt bread I have EVER had. Better than the bakery. After reading other reviews, I put mine on the quick bread cycle, which on my machine is called the "cake" cycle for 10 minutes until it beeped and I scraped the edges down. I then realized I had probably selected the wrong cycle, and switched it to the "rapid" cycle which bakes for 1:50 minutes. This turned out a moist, beautiful loaf that could easily be mistaken for white bread, were it not for the nutty flavor of the spelt, and the sheer goodness of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I used a bread maker and mine didn't rise all that high. But maybe that's typical of spelt bread? Tasted alright though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Nice recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefSuddeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thetford Forest, Norfolk, England, U.K.
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
A nice dense loaf. I used soy milk instead of rice milk, otherwise followed recipe exactly. I'll play with this a little to try to get it to rise a little more. But excellent recipe. Kids and parents alike gobbled it up. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States