Spelt Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
In going wheat-free, I was looking for a spelt bread recipe that would make good toast in the morning. I found it right here! Even my husband, who is a picky eater and often rejects things after a taste, loves it. I do make a couple of substitutions to suit our needs. I use honey instead of sugar, melted organic coconut oil for the canola, powdered goat milk in water for the rice milk, and I found organic white spelt at our local co-op. Same proportions of each. This is a dense loaf that I would personally not use for a sandwich but love to eat first thing in the morning, toasted with butter or jam. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
looks like something that would come out of me after a nice meal of taco bell
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
this is a great recipe for proportions i just upgrade the quality of ingredients to make it a super healthy bread! I use almond milk, hemp milk or coconut milk whatever i have in fridge, raw honey, unrefined salt and coconut oil! I have also started adding one egg and 1/2 tsp less yeast and that helps this bread rise really well, otherwise you often end up with a very dense loaf when using spelt. I have also used my revised recipe to make hot dog and hamburger buns!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
One of the better spelt bread recipes I've tried. I would definitely use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Excellent-better than any bakery/store version we've had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanley, New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
The dough was very dry in the bread maker so I added 1 more tbs of oil, 1/4 more cup of rice milk, and 1 egg. The bread didn't have any problems with rising. :) yeah for a bread maker recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I used honey instead of sugar. The spelt flavor is wonderful, nutty and light! I baked 1/2 a loaf in a 400 oven for 25 minutes. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
for some reason this didn't raise...could be my yeast...??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aitkin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I make this bread a lot, but I give only 4 stars, because I think it needs more water. I always get more water for it to be right consistency. As somebody reccomended on this sit I use 1 tsp of xanthan gum. It helps too. But the taste is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This bread tastes good. However, it did not rise at all. It is very dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States