Spelt Biscuits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I have not baked these yet; however, the batter is EXTREMELY salty. If the rest is okay after baking, I will definitely cut the salt in half next time and try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
These biscuits are very tasty and easy to make. I was surprised how much they rose. I am using a White Unbleached Spelt flour from my health food store. And Almond Milk. Spelt makes great pancakes as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Light and nutty, this recipe is great just the way it is. That being said, the second time I made it I added a sprinkle each of basil, oregano and granulated garlic, along with 1/2 tsp sugar. Once cut out, I brushed them with melted butter and lightly pressed spelt flakes on the tops. I then served them with a little butter and a drizzle of honey. They made a great accompaniment to a bowl of hearty chicken/pumpkin soup. Even the non-biscuit eater in the family loved them and had two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Just made this for dinner and it was perfect other than next one I will use less salt. I used sprouted flour and they were soft and had a great crust. Will make again. Key is never overwork dough and if you see chunks of butter the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paska Nayden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
I crack the spelt in my blendtec and also blend some almonds and water for my own almond "milk" mixture in place of milk. I think they are delish! My family loves them. I also cut the salt in half, otherwise they are pretty salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aspen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I give this recipe four stars because I think it should be emphasized that it would be best made with unsalted butter with this amount of salt added. Otherwise, you will probably want to cut down on the salt a bit, for the sake of flavor. Also, I'm not sure that you should go through the trouble to cut these. Mine were much more like drop biscuits, and I followed the ingredients exactly. All that said, however, I really liked them anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I haven't really made biscuits before, and was looking for something to have with homemade turkey soup. After reading some of the comments I made sure to use unsalted butter in the recipe and they turned out really great. The texture was perfect and they tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
These biscuits are great and so easy! I thought they tasted a lot like white wheat biscuits. I will be making them from now own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Love these! I don't have a gluten problem, but I don't like modern wheat, which has been so altered in the past 20some years. I use regular, not light, spelt flour and sift it before measuring. I also use unsalted butter and have cut back the salt to 1/2 teaspoon. The results are light, flaky biscuits. (Bob's Red Mill is a great source for spelt flour.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IDOBOOKS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This recipe turned out delicious. My husband said he could eat these every day and he would even give up bread if he could have these! I'm not sure if it's the kneeding that I did, but I could taste a lot of salt in some and others not so much. May recc reducing salt a tinge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Sour Cream Biscuits

Slightly sweet and super tender biscuits studded with raisins and cinnamon.

E-Z Drop Biscuits

See how to make quick-and-easy drop biscuits from scratch.

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States