Speedy Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Unbelievably quick, easy, and delicious! I did not have any half and half on hand, so I copied another reviewer and used milk (1%) and it turned out great, not to mention a little healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
Quick! Easy! The only recommendation I would make is when you take the ice cream out of the ice/salt mixture, to rinse off the bag before opening. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Grosvenordale, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This was TOO fun! I had promised my husband I would make ice cream today and got so busy around the house I forgot until 7PM. Too late to start making it in the ice cream freezer I figured. I put everything together and gave the bag(s) to the hubby and let him do the shaking. I added rock salt after 6 minutes because it really wasn't freezing very well, I thought. Next time I will just use rock salt instead of table salt. I have sent this this recipe to several friends with kids in the house. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This is a fun activity for kids! I didn't have half & half, so we used 2% and a little leftover whipping cream that I had in the fridge. I think any combination of milk, 1/2 & 1/2, or whipping cream will work as long as you use a cup of liquid. You can vary the fat content that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I made this ice cream growing up with a few differences. we used heavy cream and rock salt( both make it more of an ice cream instead of a soft serve. I dont like soft serve.)and we used 2 coffee cans instead of baggies. the coffee cans were easy and more fun, you just roll them. one large coffee can, one much smaller. ingrediants in the small one surrounded by ice and salt in the big one. my family would split into groups of two or more and play by rolling back and forth to eachother. you still need to use gloves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chino Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I make this all the time for my granddaughter. She wants it instead of store bought ice cream. It is delicious. I use 2% milk when I make it for myself. I use 2 Tblsp. sugar instead of 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia Redenius Flahaut

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I made this with my son tonight and it was surprisingly VERY tasty! We decided to add cocoa powder and cinnamon/sugar to flavor ours. As another reviewer suggested,we rinsed the salt off the bag before serving. Really fun,easy and good recipe...can easily make other flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
A great activity to do with the kids! I used 2% milk, so really I have ice milk. I also used rock salt and a large rubbermaid container to contain the ice/salt. No need to crush the ice. After 6 minutes, we have a good solid ice cream. As others suggested, be sure to rinse the ice/salt off the ice cream bag before opening. We've had a great time experimenting with flavors. Besides adding candy and cookies, we've tried...1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp cocoa powder, small chunks natural peanut butter, chopped Reeses Pieces (chocolate PB delight)...1/2 tsp vanilla, 1/2 tsp peppermint, semisweet mini chocolate chips, green food coloring (mint chocolate chip)...1/2 tsp vanilla, 1/2 tsp cinnamon flavoring, 1 tsp cocoa powder (chocolate cinnamon). Need to try instant coffee granules next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
WOW! I never would have thought that you can possibly make ice cream this fast with no fancy ingredients and no expensive machines! all you need are a few ziplock bags! I'm super happy to have found this recipe. This ice cream really is speedy, it took me exactly ten minutes and I already had all the ingredients on hand, I'm sure that most people do too. This is my first time making it and it turned out great,I took other reviewers advice and made it with 2% milk instead of the half and half cream, which made it a little healthier, I'm sure. A little lumpy and watery at first but a few minutes in the freezer quickly fixed that. I wasn't in the mood for plain vanilla so I added cinnamon sugar to it. If you want other flavors I'm sure it would be easy to make while adding Hershey's strawberry, or chocolate syrup, a few crushed oreos, or fruit,...I'll be sure to try all of those the next times I make this easy fix for my ice cream cravings in this scorching Florida heat! PS: For those of you with kids, I'm sure they'll love this! It's fresh and it doesn't have 1000 unpronounceable ingredients like store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lonnarific
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
For the first time, I can say that a recipe listed the serving size accurately! It was perfect for two. I was so excited to try this out with my 5 y/o daughter. We were both amazed at how it turned out. I shook it for about 5 minutes and then opened the bag and added some crushed Oreos; resealed the bag and shook again for another 4-5 minutes. I think if you're going to add crushed Oreos, you may want to cut the vanilla back to 1/4 teaspoon. It's definitely a personal choice though. As I have seen mentioned many, many times about this method, it does come out like soft serve ice cream. It did thicken up a bit more after letting my bag sit in the freezer for a while. Either way, I give this 5 stars easily! It's cheap, fun, child friendly, completely non messy AND tasty, what more could you possibly ask for? :) *Note* My current picture was taken on my cell phone, I will provide a better picture when I make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lonnarific
Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States