Speedy Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by lonnarific
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
For the first time, I can say that a recipe listed the serving size accurately! It was perfect for two. I was so excited to try this out with my 5 y/o daughter. We were both amazed at how it turned out. I shook it for about 5 minutes and then opened the bag and added some crushed Oreos; resealed the bag and shook again for another 4-5 minutes. I think if you're going to add crushed Oreos, you may want to cut the vanilla back to 1/4 teaspoon. It's definitely a personal choice though. As I have seen mentioned many, many times about this method, it does come out like soft serve ice cream. It did thicken up a bit more after letting my bag sit in the freezer for a while. Either way, I give this 5 stars easily! It's cheap, fun, child friendly, completely non messy AND tasty, what more could you possibly ask for? :) *Note* My current picture was taken on my cell phone, I will provide a better picture when I make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lonnarific
Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Five stars! I made this with my Sunday school class of 7 to 9 year-olds. They loved that they could help make the ice cream, and they really loved eating it! This ice cream had a nice, soft texture and really did taste great. My kids and I are about to make it again at home. We may experimentwith different flavorings and mix-ins. I'm thinking of adding crushed Oreos to the ice cream. Definitely give this recipe a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
Ok this review is for the method only, I used it to freeze a batch of icecream I had made up to freeze in my icecream maker which turned out to be a piece of junk and didn't work. Tried this way and had delicious soft serve in 20 minutes! I will use this method again! I did this with my pre-school class years ago and it was so fun for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Millersburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This recipe rocks! My son had to make some dishes for a home ec class and he had to make a dairy dish. This worked perfectly! He couldn't believe he made ice cream in such a short amount of time. We used whole milk as we didn't have the cream and it turned out great! We also just used ice from the ice maker - it wasn't crushed - it was whole and that worked fine as well! We'll definitly do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
This was TOO fun! I had promised my husband I would make ice cream today and got so busy around the house I forgot until 7PM. Too late to start making it in the ice cream freezer I figured. I put everything together and gave the bag(s) to the hubby and let him do the shaking. I added rock salt after 6 minutes because it really wasn't freezing very well, I thought. Next time I will just use rock salt instead of table salt. I have sent this this recipe to several friends with kids in the house. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terriyaki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marysville, Washington, USA
Living In: Shoreline, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
WOW....who knew?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Quick, easy to make! We used a child's ice cream maker, but it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dresden, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
So I had a craving for chocolate ice cream and we didn't have any and the store was closed. I found this recipe, and no kidding, 10 minutes later I enjoyed the best ice cream ever. I also highly recommend rinsing the bag before opening it to avoid getting salt in the ice cream (yuck!!). I put a little chocolate syrup on top and was so happy with my treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I really like this ice cream, since it doesn't require anything that we don't already have in the fridge. It tastes really good. The only problem is that it melts really fast. I like to put a little extra vanilla and a tsp of cocoa powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Unbelievably quick, easy, and delicious! I did not have any half and half on hand, so I copied another reviewer and used milk (1%) and it turned out great, not to mention a little healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States