Speedy Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
How fun! We tried it using flavored liquid creamers for the liquid (we had Hazelnut but I bet any of them would be good). Now that was some good eating! We also put the little baggie of liquid in the freezer for about 20 minutes to get it good and cold. I think it helped it set up better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
On a whim, immediately after reading this recipe, I went to the kitchen to make it. It sounded like a fun thing to do on a hot August day. I did sub granulated Splenda (the kind used for baking)and 1% milk for a low cal version. I also have a good quality vanilla. This tastes just like "snow" ice cream, as those of you who live in climates that experience snow have probably eaten at some point in your life. It brought back great childhood memories of fresh fallen snow, transformed into delicious frozen sweetness. I thank you for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARENKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Campo, Texas, USA
Living In: Wharton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
WOW! I never would have thought that you can possibly make ice cream this fast with no fancy ingredients and no expensive machines! all you need are a few ziplock bags! I'm super happy to have found this recipe. This ice cream really is speedy, it took me exactly ten minutes and I already had all the ingredients on hand, I'm sure that most people do too. This is my first time making it and it turned out great,I took other reviewers advice and made it with 2% milk instead of the half and half cream, which made it a little healthier, I'm sure. A little lumpy and watery at first but a few minutes in the freezer quickly fixed that. I wasn't in the mood for plain vanilla so I added cinnamon sugar to it. If you want other flavors I'm sure it would be easy to make while adding Hershey's strawberry, or chocolate syrup, a few crushed oreos, or fruit,...I'll be sure to try all of those the next times I make this easy fix for my ice cream cravings in this scorching Florida heat! PS: For those of you with kids, I'm sure they'll love this! It's fresh and it doesn't have 1000 unpronounceable ingredients like store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
I was quite excited to try this recipe as I lost my Ice Cream Maker in the move? First of all, DON'T DOUBLE this! It will never set up and is incredibly cold - even through my oven mitts. Tried it again (adding Oreo crumbs as someone had suggested). Put it in the freezer for 5 hours and it still was like a "runny Dairy Queen Blizzard", not even soft serve texture. Taste was good but I like my ice cream a bit firmer. I will say this was fun for my grandkids. NOTE: Don't forget to run the inner bag under COLD water to get the salt off or you'll have salty ice cream once you "squish" it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROSNANFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
Who would have thought this would work? I tried it with 1% milk as someone suggested and it was SO GOOD. It came out soft and tasted like a milkshake. I make mine even easier with 1 c milk and 1/4 c sugar free hershey syrup instead of the sugar and vanilla. Now I can have healthy ice cream anytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
This is a fun activity for kids! I didn't have half & half, so we used 2% and a little leftover whipping cream that I had in the fridge. I think any combination of milk, 1/2 & 1/2, or whipping cream will work as long as you use a cup of liquid. You can vary the fat content that way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I give this 5 stars for it being so simple, unusual and great for kids to participate in. It works but the ice cream melts pretty fast and the consistency is pretty soft but it tastes like ice cream and my 3 yr old loved it from start to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
My 7 year old daughter had fun making this and thought it was delicous. We added some strawberry syrup to it since she didn't want plain vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This was good, we just made this for an activity with my kids friends. We did one batch with vanilla and one batch with root beer extract. Shook for the 7 mins. They had fun and laughed but got tired of it toward the end. It was very soft. But they ate it right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB34

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States