Speedy Bagel Tuna Melt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This was enough to feed two young men, one half for each. I did add a little more mayonnaise than what was asked for as well as a few spices to the tuna mixture (onion powder, garlic powder, fresh ground black pepper) as well as a little chopped dill pickle. They LOVED these. They asked if I could make these again tomorrow. Tuna salad really is very personal, everyone likes it their own special way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Overall, pretty good for a quick lunch but the tuna salad needed a little work. I added finely chopped onion and celery, garlic powder, salt, pepper and dried parsley. I toasted the bagel first then topped it with the tuna salad sliced tomato then cheese and stuck it under the broiler until the cheese melted and got nice and bubbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Definitely a good idea, but it needs some work. What I did is use an onion bagel, that I toasted,then mix the tuna mixture up and microwave that. I also added about twice as much Dijon, then I put a piece of cheese on top of the bagel, then the tuna mix, then microwaved it for about 30 seconds. I finished it with some salt and coarsely-ground pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I've made a similar tuna melt for years, and my family loves it. I usually add dried onions, chopped pickles, and sometimes chopped tomato, along with the shredded cheese. Sometimes I add a little shredded cabbage (cole slaw mix) to give more nutrition and a little crunch. These are also great on toasted buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
6 oz of tuna turned out to be way too much for one serving. This should have been a 2 serving recipe. I cooked mine for a 10 minutes because it the tuna was not hot at the reccomended time. I also mixed some cheese in with the tuna mixutre as well as sprinkling with cheddar and mozz on top. I also added fresh tomato on top as well as pepper. This was not something to eat with your hands. You will need a fork if you make only one serving. 3 stars for the way written and 4 stars with my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Photo by moonlitcalm
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I left out the Dijon mustard because I didn't have any on hand. I added some sliced tomato between the tuna and the cheese and baked for 5 minutes. Quick, easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mahopac, New York, USA
Living In: Cape Canaveral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I thought 6ozs was too much for 1 serving. Here's what I did. Halved the recipe and used a 3oz can of albacore tuna. Next I wanted to cut down on the mayo so I used 1tsp of plain yogurt, 1tsp light ranch dressing and plain mustard. I didn't have cheddar so I used montery jack cheese. I didn't want to heat up the oven to 300 for 5 mins, so I toasted the "mini" bagel then added the tuna fish mix with shredded cheese, dash of salt and pepper on top and heated in the microwave on 20 seconds. A nice change of pace and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
These are great for fast meals. Not a lot of ingredients and super easy to throw together. I used the bagel thins instead of a full size bagel and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Delicious and easy! Great for a fast lunch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This was delicious! It was quick and easy and made a great lunch. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvelous

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make a Tuna Melt

Watch Chef John make the world’s tastiest tuna melt.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States