Special Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Despite the fact that I have not yet tried this recipe, I rate it as 5 stars because of the order in which the ingredients are added and cooked. Making the roux from the fat drippings and an equal amount of flour uses all the flavor the turkey fat has to offer while including the flavor of the browned flour. Then by scraping up the fond from the turkey roasting pan with the stock and adding that liquid, you bump the turkey flavor up to the maximum possible. Then continuing to add more stock or water while stirring/cooking on the stovetop will allow you to control just the right amount of thickening that is needed. If you end up making too much gravy, just freeze the excess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Very easy and delish! I only used 3 cups of broth as I like my gravy more creamy... next time I'll add more flour to the drippings so I can add more broth to increase the overall amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
The easiest gravy I have ever made. Turned out just like the picture and everyone said how good it was on Thanksgiving day. I made extra for the leftovers and it was the first to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I found that you really need to follow these directions and make sure the Roux gets really golden. Everything is spot on. Made a great gravt, but I did add more flour to thicken it up more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stasia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sonora, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Only giving this recipe 3 stars because although the gravy tasted delicious, it never thickened up for me. I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Best success I've ever had with making gravy!! Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberT

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Easy, delicious. Couldn't ask for better. A true keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I typically go to much more trouble in making my gravy, and after using this recipe I understand why. Though it is easy, even with the turkey drippings and an excellent homemade turkey stock this gravy was just OK, not "special" by any means. Sometimes the extra time and work really is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I am using this recipe again this Thanksgiving and realized I haven't raved about it! My bad! I make this exactly as it says. I use the drippings inside the turkey and add a little water as "stalk" because it's Thanksgiving....the only day eating such horrendously fattening delight is socially acceptable and by god it comes out amazing! Use this recipe and then ruuuuun like Forrest because a moment on the lips is a lifetime on the hips people ;) ::please forgive the random ramble. I'm taking a break from baking and I don't want to go back::
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonmeilleurami

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Pretty good. I used mostly the drippings from the turkey and a little bit of stock. I think the amount of gravy doesn't make enough for 20 and I needed to use lots of corn starch to get it to thicken it up. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Giblet Gravy I

This gravy is rich and delicious. It's great for holidays or any time!

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States