Special Strip Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I made this with a flank steak instead of strip steak, and added some mushrooms during the boil for 5 minutes bit, and added some additional broth. It took a bit longer to cook through, but was still excellent. I had to add some more broth during the final cooking of the steak. Great with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Delicious!! My husband ate it up added more garlic and more worstecer sauce had no sherry will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
We didn't have broiling pan and I was glad I found this recipe! My husband said it was very tender & delicious!! Will make this again. Clean up was perfect no messy broiling pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARRIED61

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pewamo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Easy and SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
outstanding! needed a bit more salt, but aside from that, the steaks turned out juicy and tender, with a wondreful classic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
Very yummy...I didn't have any beef broth, so I just used extra Worcestershire sauce. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheResa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This just didn't have any taste to us. I made it as directed with very good steaks and it was pretty bland for our buds. Will stick with my own way of making steaks. I did like the idea of rubbing it with garlic though and will continue to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
very good and easy recipe. My husband loved it. I did not have any Sherry wine or beef broth so I used Marsalla wine and it worked well. It was a little sweeter. I have never liked steak in a skillet until now. And we like our meat well done. ****ALSO I seared my steaks on both sides using some olive oil first. Removed them from the skillet and put them back in to cook with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was delicious and almost too easy! I rubbed in some minced garlic (I always keep a jar in the fridge) instead of clove garlic because I didn't have any. Otherwise followed (sherry, not broth) although I did as others did and seared the steaks in the pan first. Yum! Didn't even need steak sauce. Will have this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly Rosen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This recipe makes a melt in your mouth steak. I used NY stip steaks bone-in, cast iron skillet, a little more garlic and seared the steaks in the butter first. I then removed the steaks and followed the recipe. I used the beef broth and had to use finely diced regular onion because I did not have green onion. All I can say is WOW! I will use this recipe all winter and will never broil steaks in the house again. My regular onions carmalized and the steaks were perfect (very slightly pink inside) at about 6 minutes each side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States