Special Occasion Stuffed Crown Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JANICER8
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This recipe is a real crowd pleaser. I added 2 1/2 cups of the whole cranberry sauce instead of the cranberries, apple juice and sugar. The dressing was delicious. I used a rub of sage, rosemary, salt, garlic, shallots and olive oil on the roast. The house smelled great! My roast didn't take as long to cook either, at 7.75 pounds, but I was keeping an eye out, so it turned out moist and tender. I laid some apples cut in half on the rack with the roast when cooking, and put them on the outside of the platter when serving. Made quite the presentation, bone booties and all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANICER8

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Westminster, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
One Rib per person was fine, Delete the egg and apple juice in the stuffing if the bread crumbs are fresh. I found the roast overcooked when it reached 175 internal temperature. Next time I would take it out at 155-160 and let it rest for 15 minutes. The temperature should go up 5 degrees in resting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
The dressing recipe here was good. I have always loved roast pork and crown roasts for the festivity of it. As I read the recipe, it seemed 375 degrees was a high temperature for cooking meat. I cooked it for the exact amount of time since I did not have a meat thermometer. My roast was 10 lbs and it still came out quite dry. My oven has an accurate temperature for baking. Next time I will cook it at the high temperature the first hour and then reduce the heat to 325.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHNICKELFRITZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2000
This recipe was perfect in every way. Easy to do, tasted absolutely wonderful and was as tender and moist as you could possibly want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
This is a special "family" gathering entree. Namely because it is simple enough, yet fancy or elegant enough to make your family and friends feel as if you "really" care and out did yourself! I opted not to include the apple juice, too much moisture can be just as bad as too little. I also sauteed the onions and celery in the butter and used Ocean Spray Jelled Cranberry sauce. I whipped the sauce and then added it into the onion/celery sautee allowing it to melt/meld. I added three cloves of minced garlic to this mix at the end of the cooking time, (right about 10 minutes before the end of cooking)and added everything to a large bowl mixing with a wooden spoon. I also deleted the egg, there is no need for this binder if you do not use the apple juice. If you find your stuffing to dry for your liking add a little apple juice, a little at a time until you achieve the desired level of moistness. Nontheless, your family and friends will feel warm and fuzzy and you will feel pretty darn good yourself when you serve this roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUEWANA

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
I skipped the crown roast because of cost and used a boneless pork loin roast. The review here is for the fabulous stuffing. It's too bad it's not in a cagagory by it's self because people may not find it. So if your looking for a roast I suggest you do a loin roast and follow the recipe I found on this site with 1/2 cup vinegar plus 1 tsp thyme and go directly to the stuffing. I followed the recipe as directed and it got rave reviews from everyone. I never thought anything could replace my mother's stuffing but this will come close, at least some of the time. This is great! A+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
FANTASTIC. Made for mother in laws birthday and it turned out beautifully. Being a self-taught cook I wasn't aware that with crown pork roast it's sometimes better to tell how much you're getting with number of ribs not weight. I got a 12 rib roast to feed my crowd and it worked out very well. I rubbed it before putting it in the oven with a rosemary, garlic, pepper and little but of thyme mixed with olive oil to make a paste. It smelled so good while cooking and the dressing was beautiful and tasted great. It is so easy to prepare and looks so elegant that you can't go wrong!! Keep in mind however that it is NOT an inexpensive dish..definitely for special occasions only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
I give it five stars!Fantastic roast and presentation.Talk of the table! I modified the stuffing by using canned whole cranberry sauce,omitted adding sugar and apple juice,replacing the liquid with water.Baked it in a covered casserole.Recipe is a keeper.Thankk you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I don't cook much and this was so easy. We made this for Christmas Day and it was a huge hit. It looked impressive and it tasted fantastic. I did omit the sugar and used canned whole cranberry sauce instead (as suggested by another reviewer). It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Great Recipe. Stuff was just a tad too sweet, would eliminate some sugar next time. With fresh bread, egg isn't needed. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Taos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States