Special Occasion Stuffed Crown Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Great recipe. If you want to keep the crown form before adding the stuffing, you can insert a large apple in the middle. The apple will help keep the form and add delicious flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catty

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
WOW! This crown roast was delish! It was not an easy recipe but well worth the effort. Only minor tweaks.....we used fresh apple cider (AND 2 times the amount called for.....stuffing because we used dried bread crumbs instead of fresh) and added 1/2 cup of finely chopped pecans. We followed the rest of the recipes and loved this roast. The only thing we will do is take the roast out a bit earlier....it was almost too dry. And the roast was amazing the next day too! We have a new Christmas dinner tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skmge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This is a good recipe. The stuffing is great. The roast I guess depends on your butcher. My butcher did not do a good job at all. No room to stuff it and meat was tough. I cooked it just as directed. I think it was the roast it's self that caused it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clydyboy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calimesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
What an amazingly simple dish! The pork was fantastic, and the stuffing was a hit at my Christmas Eve dinner. My 12 rib, 7 lb roast took approx 2.5 hours to cook at 350, so it was done earlier than I expected. I wrapped it in foil and kept it in the warming drawer, but unfortunately, it got a little drier than I would have liked. It was still great though. Since this was my first time making a crown roast, I wasn't sure on the cooking time - now I know for next time. I couldn't fit very much stuffing inside my crown roast, so I cooked it in dish and it was fantastic - everyone loved it. I made a separate portion of stuffing for myself that was dairy and soy free, so instead of butter, I sauteed the onion and celery in a little olive oil. Then I added extra apple juice to make up for the missing liquid. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
I used this recipe for my first crown roast for Christmas of 09. It was fantastic! Everything about it was perfect. Im coming to this recipe again for stuffing for the Thanksgiving bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linds

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
As suggested by others, I used 2 cups of whole canned cranberries, no sugar and no egg. However I did add the apple juice and found the stuffing too wet, but still tasted amazing. My family all loved it and wanted to take the leftovers home. Next time I won't add any apple juice. I also cooked this recipe in a dish and not in the middle of my pork roast and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
The pork was incredibly dry and took much longer to cook than expected. The dressing was alright... it had a thanksgiving sort of feel. I won't cook it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
My first time making this type of roast. WONDERFUL! I used dried crandberries in dressing and it was wonderful. The middle of the roast wasn't large enough to hold much stuffing, so I added more apple juice and baked it for about 20 minutes by itself. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Tried this recipe for the first crown roast I've ever made. The meat was a little dry but otherwise this turned out great. Next time we will not cook it quite so long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WAHM of 9

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kimball, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I made this last night for a new year's dinner for family - 10 people. My roast was 8.75 pounds. Although a frequent entertainer/cook, I have never made crown roast or any other type of pork - just hadn't but now wanted to try something new. I didn't like the stuffing; followed the recipe to the letter but I did not like the sweet flavor. Husband hated it - very opinionated though. No one else said much. On the roast itself, I didn't trust my meat thermometer. My oven is electric and runs hot, but, within 15 mintes of returning the roast to the oven, the therm said 160. I placed it in different locations, and it quickly reached 160 but didn't go above. I kept it in for about another 45-60 minutes total as I was concerned that the recipe for a smaller roast (7 lbs) said about another 1.5 hour was required. In any case, long story not so short, I found it dry and didn't finish it - no one really did. My teenage nephews will eat car parts but they weren't to into it. Luckily I smothered everyone with appetizers galore so at least no one went hungry. So that is my story - take from it what you will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed and Rolled Pork Tenderloin

See how to make pork tenderloin stuffed with herbs, garlic, and currants.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States