Special Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This was great! I added a little more onion on accident and it was still really good. Didn't have lobster, so I used crawfish. Can't wait to make it again and try adding chopped celery and white wine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butteryedgar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danvers, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I followed the recipe pretty closely except for the following: added 1/3 cup sherry with the broth, used unsalted butter, left out plain salt and used 1/2 tsp garlic salt & 1/2 tsp Old Bay instead. Instead of whole milk I used 2.25 c nonfat milk & 2.25 c half&half. Left out last addt'l cream and paprika (it's in the Old Bay anyway). Did not have an onion so I used dried minced, 1.5 Tbsp. i pureed the bisque with an immersion blender to distribute the lobster flavor throughout the bisque. This thickens it a bit too. I served with Parmesan garlic bread toasted under the broiler and a nice salad. 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Great tasting, quick and easy. Substituted half and half as I did not have light cream on hand. I also steeped the shells from the picked claws, spilt tails and knuckles from 3 lobsters we had for supper the night before...as another reviewer suggested. Finally, I added the kernels from 2 ears of sweet corn at the same time I dropped the lobster meat. An ultimate leftover soup/meal that will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Good stuff. Even better when it sits overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Ann Ferrer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Only giving 4 stars because I added a ton of extras that were suggested in the reviews below, such as some bay leaves, white wine, garlic salt, minced garlic, red cayenne, can of tomato paste, and extra pepper. This, being my first time ever making a lobster bisque, found so many different variations online - and I was looking for one that was easier rather than complex. This was the perfect inbetween of everything. It was very, VERY easy to make and so filling and enjoyable! I have left overs that I can't wait to rush home from work to get to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I used half n half instead of milk. And I cut the milk to 3 cups and added 1 cup of sherry. Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
We had this for our 2012 Christmas dinner. We loved our own tweaked version. I had never made this dish before so this recipe was most helpful.With alldue respect I totally revamped the recipe. In place of the chicken broth I use a vegetable and a chicken Flavor Booster (by Swanson). I also used a heaping half cup of flour. I used no salt celery or regular. Instead of milk I used 1 quart fat free half and half and the near the endI used 4 seafood flavor booster packets.Paprika made the difference. Also added of original Mrs. Dash. It was unamiously declared divine. Our two year old granddaughter ate an entire bowl. Huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Reid

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Gourmet restaurant quality, absolutely perfect recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This was a good recipe... I did however change things up and used shrimp instead of lobster.... Still delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ardmore, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States