Special Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I think it's alright but my husband likes it deserves a 4 star. I also added a can of tomato paste suggested by others which is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I was very disappointed. I followed the recipe to the letter but it was absolutely tasteless. What a gigantic waste of expensive lobster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
wow, I was surprised how restaurant-quality the taste was! I didn't taste it once, as I was cooking, but when I tasted the final product, it was pretty darn good! One final note, I put in a lot of extra paprika (just for my own tastes I suppose), it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I just made this soup last night and I must say, it was wonderful! I read other reviews and took some of their suggestions into consideration - the end result? My husbands words were: "*&%^ Incredible!...this is a DO OVER, and DO OVER AGAIN". I added a can of tomato paste and a bit if white wine as suggested by someone else. I also used rock lobster tails (I can't find canned lobster here), 4 huge shrimp, and 2 cans of crab meat, so it ended up being 'seafood bisque'. There is NONE left today, and I think I'll make a double batch the next time! I'd also add more paprika and a dollop of tabasco just to give it a little bit if a kick. Served it with foccacia bread and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I was looking for a recipe similar to the bisque I had once in Mystic Seaport, CT. This wasn't it. Not very good for all the effort and it didn't get as thick as I'd have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Eisenreich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2007
I gave the recipe 4 stars because I added a few ingredients to make it just perfect for me. I added cooking sherry, Worcestershire sauce, and heavy cream instead of light. I loved it, but next time I think I might add some corn to it, to make it a little like lobster corn chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisamarie13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Long Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
WOW, WOW, WOW. Made this to accompany a lobster tail dinner for my family and EVERYONE raved! My father-in-law even stated that he's had lobster bisque all over the world and that this recipe was on-par with some of the best restaurants he's been to. And the best part?- it was SOOO easy to make! I did add about 2 tablespoons of dry cocktail sherry to it at the end. Thanks so much for the fantastic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
Rosalie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Easy, inexpensive, and very good! Directions were imprecise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
I substituted lump crab for the lobster, used 1% milk and whipping cream instead of light cream since I had that at home. Otherwise followed recipe...EXCELLENT! My 4 and 7 year olds were standing in the kitchen begging for taste after taste when it was done. Big hit for my dad's birthday! Can't wait to try it with lobster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States