Special Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This is a delicious recipe - and can be made even better by using this old New England trick. First of all I reduced the size of the recipe to 4 servings, so the measurements here reflect that. I cooked and cleaned 2 (1 1/4 lb) lobsters, saved the juice that came out when I pulled them apart, (discarding all coral and tomally) cut up the meat and set it aside. Then I put the broken up shells (excluding the part with the head, which I threw away) in a stew pot with about 2 1/2 cups of milk, along with the juice from the lobsters, and let it just barely simmer for maybe an hour. I strained all the shells out and discarded them, and then used this for the 2 1/4 cups of milk the smaller recipe called for. I also sauteed minced fresh onion in the butter to soften it before I added the flour. I simmered the thickened broth for just a few minutes and then added the lobster meat, shut off the heat and just let it sit to blend the flavors. Too much simmering will overcook the lobster meat. I didn't use a whole tablespoon of paprika, either, and omitted the tsp of salt, but that is a matter of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
This recipe earned its "5" hands down. I made it exactly as is and it was spectacular. The mild heat of the paprika gently offset the sweet of the lobster. The very subtle taste of onion supported it all. None of these flavors covered the lobster. The fact that this recipe is so easy makes it even better! This recipe will be in our family for a long, long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Hill Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
This is super quick and easy and must add rewarding at the end! 2+1/2 hour lobster bisque just doesn't fit in my schedule. This soup should sit for an hour or two before served, it was even better than,it has a stronger lobster flavor rather when it is first finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eger, Heves, Hungary
Living In: Bayside, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
It was delicious!! I did add a can of tomato paste, and a little bit of white wine :) I also substituted snow crab for the lobster. I've made it twice now and it's always a favorite :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
This was wonderful, though I made some substitutions to my version. I omitted the celery salt and used a bit of thyme and sage. I added some wine at the same time as the stock (I used lobster stock, but I'm sure it would be good with other stock as well), and let that cook off before continuing. Then I used half and half rather than light cream (only because I had it on hand) and it came out wonderful! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Irving

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bath, Maine, USA
Living In: Pembroke, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Needed a quick and easy dinner and this one fit the bill. We ended up using frozen langostino tail meat which I used in place of the lobster. Also, I had no celery salt and no cream. I just used 5 cups of whole milk. The bisque was so creamy and flavorful with all the butter and whole milk, I didn't miss the cream anyways. And as I do with all of my cream based soups, I added about 2+ teaspoons of red wine vinegar when I took the soup off the heat. I'm not sure what it does exactly, but it gives all cream based soups extra depth. Soooo good! It hit the spot on this cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
Truely one of the best Lobster Bisgue's I have tried.It was a hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by INSPIRON41
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
I really enjoy this recipe. it was very easy to make. I added a dash of cayenne pepper to give it a bit of a kick to it. And i left out the light cream, which tasted perfectly fine without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INSPIRON41

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
This lobster bisque was awesome! I made if for my girlfriends and they loved it! They all asked for the recipe. I followed the directions to the tee. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
We didn't use celery salt, we added a bay leaf, and cut the butter and flour down to 4 tablespoons each...used 1/ & 1/2 and sprinkled with chives and grated parmesean cheese right before serving...Good comfort food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States