Special Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Very good with a minor change. Use 4 c milk instead of 4 1/2. Use 1 c fat free half and half instead of 1/2 c light real cream. I also made this with @ lbs of claw crabmeat instead of the lobster. Both were very good soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I've vacationed in Tampa, FL a few times and there's a little cafe in Clearwater Beach that serves a seafood bisque. I must have it several times whenever I'm there and I've been trying to find a close recipe ever since. Well this is the closest I've came and it might actually be a little better. The last (and best) time I made it I used 1lb of bay scallops and 2 5oz cans of crab meat. The flavor was awesome. Any kind of shellfish will be good, doesn't have to be lobster. Although I wouldn't use shrimp by itself, since shrimp has less flavor than other shellfishes. I also season this initially with salt, pepper, paprika, and celery salt according to the recipe. Then I season it to taste in the final stages of cooking using Tony Cachere's cajun seasoning. It is a 1st class five-star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Loved this recipe. My husband made it while I was at work. He said he added some worcester sauce and sherry cooking wine as others had suggested and also a little bit of Chipotle. Will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Excellent recipe! I paired it with some cheddar cheese biscuits and the whole family enjoyed it after a snowy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Used leftover lobster and no cream, cause I didn't have any, also used veg broth....excellent use for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brigham City, Utah, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I think it's alright but my husband likes it deserves a 4 star. I also added a can of tomato paste suggested by others which is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
I was very disappointed. I followed the recipe to the letter but it was absolutely tasteless. What a gigantic waste of expensive lobster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
wow, I was surprised how restaurant-quality the taste was! I didn't taste it once, as I was cooking, but when I tasted the final product, it was pretty darn good! One final note, I put in a lot of extra paprika (just for my own tastes I suppose), it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I just made this soup last night and I must say, it was wonderful! I read other reviews and took some of their suggestions into consideration - the end result? My husbands words were: "*&%^ Incredible!...this is a DO OVER, and DO OVER AGAIN". I added a can of tomato paste and a bit if white wine as suggested by someone else. I also used rock lobster tails (I can't find canned lobster here), 4 huge shrimp, and 2 cans of crab meat, so it ended up being 'seafood bisque'. There is NONE left today, and I think I'll make a double batch the next time! I'd also add more paprika and a dollop of tabasco just to give it a little bit if a kick. Served it with foccacia bread and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I was looking for a recipe similar to the bisque I had once in Mystic Seaport, CT. This wasn't it. Not very good for all the effort and it didn't get as thick as I'd have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOLFFOX

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States