Special Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This is a delicious recipe - and can be made even better by using this old New England trick. First of all I reduced the size of the recipe to 4 servings, so the measurements here reflect that. I cooked and cleaned 2 (1 1/4 lb) lobsters, saved the juice that came out when I pulled them apart, (discarding all coral and tomally) cut up the meat and set it aside. Then I put the broken up shells (excluding the part with the head, which I threw away) in a stew pot with about 2 1/2 cups of milk, along with the juice from the lobsters, and let it just barely simmer for maybe an hour. I strained all the shells out and discarded them, and then used this for the 2 1/4 cups of milk the smaller recipe called for. I also sauteed minced fresh onion in the butter to soften it before I added the flour. I simmered the thickened broth for just a few minutes and then added the lobster meat, shut off the heat and just let it sit to blend the flavors. Too much simmering will overcook the lobster meat. I didn't use a whole tablespoon of paprika, either, and omitted the tsp of salt, but that is a matter of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
really quite simple to make and very tasty, I added some hot Hungarian paprika for a little punch, it was really delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ronimarie

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Woolrich, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I have a variation that I use a cup of light cream, a pinch of cayanne pepper and just shy of 1/4 cup cooking sherry. I'm known as "the soupmiester" with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Made this for a crowd. Served Bruschetta and salad. It was a hit. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Wonderful... I served at a family birthday party... and they all enjoyed! The only thing I added was a small amount of crushed red pepper which I thought tasted good..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
All in all this is a good soup. Made this as directed and the flavor is right there. The soup to me needs to be a tad richer and I would ad some Cabernet or Merlot to taste. Since I plan on making this again, I will continue to tweak the recipe just a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DocDave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by Mena
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This was such a tasty recipe. I added slicely thin green onions to garnish it before serving and didn't have light cream so I used half and half. That came out good still. I served the soup in a sourdough bread instead of a bowl and I didn't shred the lobster meat. I diced the lobster meat to give the soup some texture. Will be making more of this in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I made this today, and the flavors are phenomenal! I agree with previous posts that this recipe would work excellently with crab as well. I followed the recipe but added about 1/3 cup of dry sherry and a dash of cayenne. Definitely a five-star bisque!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I made this recipe exactly as is, except that i used less milk, it was so delicious and easy my husband couldn't tell enough people how good it was. I will definitely be making this again, however i will use about half the paprika next time. thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States