Special Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was pretty good, but we felt like something was missing without tomato paste. Also - make sure you use good lobster. The kind we had was not the best and it really detracted from the bisque. Not taking that into consideration, I felt this was a 4/5. With a bit more tomato-y base, I think it could easily be a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This rating may be due to my own inexperience in the kitchen, however, this tasted like flour to me. I added TONS of seasing to try to cover it up, but it has not worked. I will try again in time, making a roux.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
So good, but I did vary. I took the lobster meat out of the tails. Made stock out of the tails instead of using chicken stock. Took the meat chopped it up and then marinated in sherry for about 30 mins. Sauted the onions and lobster in butter. The followed the recipe. If you can find Lobster base add that too so much more favor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Fabulous everytime I make it. The best time I added 1/2 cup extra chicken stock and used evaporated milk instead of regular--then cut out the cream--I didn't need it. I used 3/4T paprika and 1/4T Old Bay. Pinch of garlic salt, extra pepper. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This recipe is just delicious! I had a hard time finding lobster so I substituted Phillip's Crab and it was really yummy. Will definitely be making this many times in the future!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This is a great base recipe - but as is, it's rather bland. I can't imagine lobster bisque without a bit of dry sherry in the recipe, plus a little kick. I also pared down the fat and calories. Changes: eliminate the milk and light cream and substitute 4 1/2 cups fat free half & half;increase black pepper to 3/8 tsp.;increase salt to 2-3 tsp. Additions: 2 tsp lemon juice; 4-6 shakes hot pepper sauce (Tabasco); and at the last few minutes on the heat: 3 tbsp dry sherry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Very good. I did use crab instead of Lobster and my husband wanted me to add corn. It was great! Everyone loved it and my husband said it was better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Very good flavor! I used shrimp instead of lobster, and half n half instead of cream. I also added chopped celery, and some cayenne pepper for a kick. I don't know if it was because of my substitutions but it came out kind of thin. I would prefer it to be a bit thicker. Next time I will try to thicken it up a bit more. I WILL be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jc-and-me

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Very delicious and easy! I made a few changes too- added 1/2 cup dry white wine, used 2 cups each of heavy cream, milk, and chicken broth (in which I simmered the lobster shells for 10 min). YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
This was wonderful! I didn't change anything. This definitely needs to sit for a day or two to blend all the flavors. I will also try this soup base for shrimp or crab bisque as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 61-70 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States