Special Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Have been making this for christmas eve since 2007. it is always a hit! love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Needed a quick and easy dinner and this one fit the bill. We ended up using frozen langostino tail meat which I used in place of the lobster. Also, I had no celery salt and no cream. I just used 5 cups of whole milk. The bisque was so creamy and flavorful with all the butter and whole milk, I didn't miss the cream anyways. And as I do with all of my cream based soups, I added about 2+ teaspoons of red wine vinegar when I took the soup off the heat. I'm not sure what it does exactly, but it gives all cream based soups extra depth. Soooo good! It hit the spot on this cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I used imitation crab meat instead of lobster, but followed the recipe other than that and it was still fantastic. Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
A great soup to splurge on, even when using half&half instead of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlingame, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I tried this recipe EXACTLY how it was written and I have to say....it was FANTASTIC! Thanks for sharing. Definitely going to put this in the front of the cookbook as a ALL-TIME FAV!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolann1964

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by camsmith89
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This is great! I have been adding a tiny bit of tomato paste as some others suggested. I never seem to have chicken stock so I end up using broth and adding some seasonings to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camsmith89

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Normal, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Fast, simple, delicious. The perfect way to use up a leftover steamed lobster. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I used skim milk and cooked it a little longer before adding the light cream to get it to thicken up. delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Hills, New York, USA
Living In: Freeport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Excellent! I minimized to milk to 4 cups. Plus, I minimized the flour to 4 tablespoons. Then I added a can of tomato paste, a finely chopped stalk of celery, a bay leaf, and a 1/4 teaspoon of Old Bay seasoning. The combination of texture, color, aroma, and taste is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA
Living In: Poinciana, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was pretty good, but we felt like something was missing without tomato paste. Also - make sure you use good lobster. The kind we had was not the best and it really detracted from the bisque. Not taking that into consideration, I felt this was a 4/5. With a bit more tomato-y base, I think it could easily be a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Emergency Crab Bisque

See how to make a super-simple, guest-worthy crab bisque.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States