Special Lobster Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Lolli072
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Deliciousness! Loved the flavour, and it was a great way to use up leftover lobster that I had. Only thing I may change would be to purée the onions to add to the bisque. It would make the texture a bit more creamy. Lovely recipe! Thank you! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lolli072

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I have not made this yet but perhaps what is missing is a hint of sherry which I have had in most seafood bisques. Got this hint from a pub that makes fresh lobster bisque daily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
This was very tasty and easy to make! I made one minor change, and that was to add one chopped clove of garlic to the butter at the beginning. I would highly recommend this recipe (with the garlic added).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I made this soup several times. The first time, I followed the recipe exactly. I am giving it five stars because of how easy it is to make. My husband, the bisque snob said it was missing something, but it was still good. The last time I made it I think I got it right. I used fish stock instead of chicken stock, left out the cream, added tarragon, a pinch of cayenne pepper, and sherry. I also added a bit of lumb crab meat. It tasted GREAT, and got RAVE reviews at a family dinner. I have also made this recipe leaving out the cream and using lactose-free milk. It was a treat for people who can't normally eat bisque without suffering an upset (lactose intolerant) stomach. The Lactaid milk seemed to have made it taste kind of "sweet, but I added a bit more cayenne and it was still terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aesj22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I will definitely make this again, but not often. It was too time consuming for a normal week night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
My husband requested this and loved it! I had never made a seafood bisque of any sort but this was easy and turned out great. We used imitation crab meat and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Followed maylanadalia's recommendation and simmered the shells from 2 tails in milk for about 15 minutes (which smelled amazing) which we then poured through a sieve into the roux. Followed the rest of the recipe exactly as stated, except threw in raw lobster from the tails at the end. It was truly an exceptional recipe. I didn't think the salt was necessary (as the celery salt is salty enough) - I say hold the salt and add as needed later. Next time I may try adding a bit of onion, celery and carrots to make a really rich broth, but I really did think it tasted perfect as is, that would just add a tiny bit more to an already amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This is the best recipe of Lobster Bisque I have found. The only thing I made a mistake on is that I usually only have non-fat milk in my fridge, so the sauce was not at thick as it probably would have been with whole milk. So just incase..use milk with some fat in it. :) This has made it on my family's favorite dinner items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Fantastic. I didn't have have celery salt on hand, so I used vegetable seasoning, and I don't like the texture of onions so I used onion powder, but this was excellent. Fed it to a chef-friend of mine who was a little worried because he usually finds bisque to be more boiled shells than actual shellfish, and he also loved it (he felt it was more like chowder than bisque). This recipe is a keeper. (Will make it again next time we have leftovers after a feed of lobster.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This was easy and delicious. We found that the 3 tablespoons of minced onion was a little too much, and we found we added a dash, or 2 dashes of cayenne pepper. We also used the immitation lobster and chopped it finely, and it was very tasty. Thanks for the Sunday afternoon lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yelsi

Displaying results 31-40 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lobster Bisque

Watch how to make this quick seafood soup.

Spicy Coconut Shrimp Bisque

See how to make a quick shrimp bisque with spicy Asian flavors.

Steamed Lobster Tails

See how simple it is to get perfect, succulent steamed lobster.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States