Special Irish Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I made my stew in a crockpot, I go along with some of the any cooks, to much tomatoes, if I make again I will use tomato sauce instead of paste. I also adding a little thyme, and no mushrooms. Family said it was OK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This was excellent. Altho I altered it a bit. I added, small piece of Polska Kielbasa, 1/4tsp of red mole, small rutabake, thyme to taste. Also I didn't have dark beer of any kind but did have CoorsLight so used that and it still gave great flavor. No beef broth, chicken broth works just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Irish stew should be made with lamb not beef. Any self respecting Irishman would know that. This is an American take on an Irish favorite. Not bad but 100% better if you use the lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Great stew as is or...my mother used to make Irish stew like this only used lamb instead of the beef and there are many wonderful memories of taste and aroma associated with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barrington, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Someone noted that the recipe called for diced garlic but didn't say what to do with it. I sauteed the garlic along with the mushrooms and onion. Had lots of time to cook up the meal so started the stew 4 hrs before eating, (used Guiness draft) and only added the potatoes and carrots 1.5 hr prior to eating (so they wouldn't be over cooked). Got a lot of compliments about the stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
solid irish beef stew, although slightly boring. will probably try again and adjust the spices more liberally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
We made this on a whim...my husband wanted something for the cool weather. It was really easy to make. I might use a little less carrots and a little more stew meat next time. You will also want to add some salt. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
i searched and searched the beef stew recipe and this one caught my eye, but after tasting it i was very let down. While it was good, it just wasn't what i was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Sweet. This looks like what my mom makes. Serve in bowls with a pepper grinder and tons of bread. Drop dumplings go great with this, about half a dozen or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This is delicious! Excellent flavor. No changes necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States