Special Irish Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I was excited about all the positive reviews for this and I wanted to try something different for a 'special' dinner. I followed the recipe (but used a milder beer, per a few of the other reviewers suggestion) but it was pretty bad. There was a very bitter aftertaste that permeated the vegetables - nothing was salvageable and we ended up doing take-out. 2 stars for creativity, ease of preparation, and spelling, though! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Very tasty indeed. The only addition I made was cracked black pepper. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENCH01

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This was very bitter, and my kids wouldn't touch it. I followed the directions exactly except that I used my slow cooker. I had to stir 3 CUPS of brown sugar into it to reduce the bitterness. I will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Happy St. Patricks Day! We made this last night with awesome results, and all of the leftovers are officially gone! Per other reviewers I only used a cup of Guinness Extra Stout and a little extra beef broth to make up the rest. I did add salt and pepper to the flour to coat the meat. I boiled the meat, onions, and mushrooms for about a half hour before adding the veggies and cooked another hour. I used two carrots, and added two celery sticks along with a few handfuls of cabbage. I didn't need to use the cornstarch because it was perfectly thick enough for us. The end result was delicious! i would guess that if you didn't use the full amount of tomato paste your stew might be bitter from the Guinness Extra stout, but mine was perfect. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Wonderfully flavored stew. I did take some suggestions and added an extra cup of beef broth (I used Progresso all natural), kept the beer to one bottle, and added 1 tbsp. of sugar, 1 tsp of thyme and two bay leaves. I let it slow cook in a dutch oven for 1.5 hours. Definitely a remake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I followed the instructions for searing the beef and cooking the onions and garlic, however I followed up by putting it all in my crockpot to slow cook all day. I did make a few additions: 1 heavy tablespoon sugar, 1 tsp. red pepper, 1 tsp. black pepper and 1 tsp. rosemary. I used 2 10oz. cans of beef broth, so roughly 4 extra oz. and a can of Guinness as my choice of 'Irish stout beer' (in our house, there is no other choice). After 9 hours on low, this was the perfect meal to end a long day of running. I excluded the cornstarch and water by the way... the stew was just right without it. Due to my adjustments, I only gave the actual recipe 4 stars, but the final product was terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I quite enjoyed this stew, although next time I will use more beef stock, as I felt there was not enough gravy for a good stew. I only added 3 cups of carrots, then added 1/2 cup of garden peas and a cup of rutabaga. Just wanted a little more vegetable variety. Added lots of salt and pepper, to suit my families tastes, as otherwise thought it a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Made this for my husband's bday dinner. He loved it and I did, too. The Guinness makes it delish! Will definitely make this again. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anghill79

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
This was yummy even the kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States