Special Irish Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
This had a really good flavor to it. I chose this recipe from all the other Irish stews because it could be made in 2 hours. The meat was just as tender, and the flavors were melded even though it only cooks for an hour or so. I used a lighter beer than a stout and added a little sugar, since I didn't think my family would like a stronger beer flavor. But you definitely need some kind of beer in this recipe. I also left out the potatoes, because I made this on St. Patrick's Day, and we always have green mashed potatoes on St. Patrick's Day ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie Davey ?
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
thanks very much for this recipe. I'm a vegi but wanted to make something special for my Irish boyfriend on st. Patrick day. this recipe had basic ingredients which I had in my cupboard and didn't take 6hours to cook like many others. I halved everything so could make a vegi version for myself, unfortunately, as quorn is so dry, it soaks up the yummy sauce. the beef turned out beautifully tho and my boyfriend was well impressed. bonus points for Me and a tasty, hearty dinner for us both :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Davey ?

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This is a great fall/ winter meal. I use a local micro brew dark beer, it makes the recipe a real novelty. I tried it with Guiness the first time and found that it overpowered the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
NO flavor! Like eating a can of tomato paste. I have added so many ingredients to this stew to try to give it flavor that I've lost track of what I've added! And it still tastes like a can of tomato paste! Reading the other reviews, I see I'm not alone. Wish I would have read them first. I gave it two stars for concept only. This recipe is bland, bland, bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This was superb. The only change I made was to add two teaspoons of sugar to counteract the bitterness of the stout and put it over mashed potatoes, because I don't care for potatoes in my stew. I gave the other half bottle of stout to my friend after she tasted mine and gave her my printed recipe. This is in my permanent collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I am not a big stew fan and this was only my second attempt but it proved very successful. Doubled the meat and vegatablles adding in some parsnips and a 14oz can of guinness and fed it to 12 with rave reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Briarcliff Manor, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I was freaking out a little because I hadn't planned anything for St Patrick's Day dinner and I decided to find a recipe today. FYI, you cannot make corned beef in a few hours if your beef isn't already corned. This recipe was a life saver and my husband loved it. My son didn't like it very much but he doesn't like very many things. The only changes that I made was I only used half of the beef, 1 cup of carrots and Leinenkugel Creamy Dark instead of the Guiness because the liquor store was out of it. I know that it is German instead of Irish but it really made it taste great. I was just ready the reviews that some other people left and they said that the beer made it taste bad, this beer is dark and has body but it isn't sharp in a bad way. I served it with a Soda Bread recipe that I found on her along with my German beer and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I used Killians. Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraellen225

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kinsman, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This recipe was bland. If you notice there isn't even a call for simple salt and pepper (which I added myself), but it still did not save the dish. I searched the net and found a recipe that added Worcestershire sauce, bay leaves, thyme, and red wine. Now that is what saved the stew! This is a good base recipe, just has no flavor at all! I'm going to be going off the other recipe I found if I want Irish Stew again...this wasn't special it was just disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JTREEGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
extremely yummy, but I found that it needed to cook MUCH longer than the 1 hour stated on the recipe for the veggies to soften. (and I diced them quite small actually!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie Turnage Kibler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Irish Stew

This classic stew is hearty, easy, and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States