Special Deviled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
what did I do wrong? these came out so runny and completely overpowered by the relish. Sooo disappointed...and now stuck with runny egg mixture and 36 egg halves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This recipe has great potential but has some problems as written, namely that there's just too much of everything for the itty-bitty amount of egg yolks! As I began to mix this up it quickly became apparent that the egg yolks would not just be overpowered by the sweet pickle relish, they would drown in it. I cut it back to barely half the amount called for. I can only imagine that the full amount would have been sickening sweet. I found it necessary to cut back on the horseradish, onion and mustard as well, again to about half the amount called for. The directed amount of mayonnaise was just right. Ultimately these were fantastic, and even after significantly reducing the amount of relish the sweetness was noticeable, but at least pleasantly so. Had I strictly adhered to the recipe I have a feeling these would have been tossed. Any flavor of the eggs themselves would have been totally obliterated by that of pickle relish, horseradish, mustard and onion. We really enjoyed these, but I'm afraid only because I did NOT follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
The ratio of ingredients is way off here. If you doubled the quantity of eggs and kept everything the same it might work, but as is it was a gloppy mess. Even then I'd probably cut back on the horseradish. Unless you want to waste an hour and ruin a carton of eggs, I wouldn't recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
My boys love'm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Ohme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
Made these for a party and my guests devoured them. I didn't have sweet relish so i very finely chopped and drained some dill pickles. I used green onions for a more mild onion flavor. Very flavorful deviled eggs and the horseradish was just enough for a kick of flavor w/o making it too spicy. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Not my taste, sorry. I probably would of liked them more if I cut down on the relish- just too overpowering. I love horseradish in my eggs so that was fine, but remember to drain really well first, same wtih relish or this will be runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Grove, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This recipe is too runny and requires adjusting the amounts. Eventhrough I had addied an extra boiled egg, it didn't help. After adding two tbsps. of relish and 1 tbsp. of horseradish, it was so runny I had to skip the mustard. It tasted good but I would have preferred a creamier consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Wayyyyyy too sweet for me, and I didn't even put in the full about of sweet relish. I forgot to put in the green onion, so I sprinkled it over the top - made for nice presentation, but it did make the fridge smell like onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DreaLuvzFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harlem, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
These are the best deviled eggs I've tasted and have prepared them during holidays for our family. In fact, that's now my official role at family gatherings is to bring these deviled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Chick Deviled Eggs

A delicious deviled egg recipe gets a cute-for-Easter makeover.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States