Special Deviled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2005
This is the ultimate recipe! Quit searching! For filling the eggs, snip the corner of a sandwich baggie. Fill with yolk mixture and gently squeeze onto egg white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galena Park, Texas, USA
Living In: Lott, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
These are so good. I love the classic deviled egg recipe and make them all the time. Then I came across this recipe. My boyfriend and I LOVE horseradish and it melds perfectly in this recipe. I will never make deviled eggs any other way. The only reccommendation I have after making these a few times is to drain your relish and horseradish very well before mixing it with the egg yolk. It can make a runny, but still delicious deviled egg otherwise. Also, I don't use the salt and pepper... the eggs have a ton of flavor with out them. Thank you, Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
The best deviled eggs! I made this for our Easter festivities and all 36 were gobbled up. The night before, I combined all the non-egg ingredients so the flavors would really pop! I used green onions for a more subtle onion flavor. On top, I garnished with tiny radish wedges and paprika. Served on a tray with fresh parsley, everyone oohed and ahhed about how professional they looked. It is an easy recipe to do if you use a sandwich bag as a pastry bag. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chouli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Solna, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This recipe has great potential but has some problems as written, namely that there's just too much of everything for the itty-bitty amount of egg yolks! As I began to mix this up it quickly became apparent that the egg yolks would not just be overpowered by the sweet pickle relish, they would drown in it. I cut it back to barely half the amount called for. I can only imagine that the full amount would have been sickening sweet. I found it necessary to cut back on the horseradish, onion and mustard as well, again to about half the amount called for. The directed amount of mayonnaise was just right. Ultimately these were fantastic, and even after significantly reducing the amount of relish the sweetness was noticeable, but at least pleasantly so. Had I strictly adhered to the recipe I have a feeling these would have been tossed. Any flavor of the eggs themselves would have been totally obliterated by that of pickle relish, horseradish, mustard and onion. We really enjoyed these, but I'm afraid only because I did NOT follow the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by 4everLuuvd
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
I am giving this recipe five stars because it is a VERY GOOD recipe that MOST ANYONE would at "least" LIKE. My own recipe seems to still be a favorite in my house so perhaps I'll post that one some day. THIS IS A VERY GOOD RECIPE. Once making it, there are changes anyone could make to suit their individual taste. However, that said, I think this is a "CAN'T GO WRONG TO PLEASE A CROWD" basic start recipe! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4everLuuvd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jason
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
Wow! Amazing! and even better with green onions(finely chopped) as a sustitute for the regular onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
I went to a family event of my fiance's, and his mother asked me to make deviled eggs. They were such a huge hit that for every family event since, one of the uncles has called to make sure that I'm coming and that I'm bringing the deviled eggs. They are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I made some substitutions based on personal preference and what I had on hand - I used less mayo and added about 1/3 cup of creamy horseradish spread. I also used 1/2 of a large garlic dill pickle, chopped very finely, instead of the sweet relish, and I added about 1/4 cup of Dijonnaise because I like a more mustardy flavor. It was REALLY good. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
Not a "classic" recipe, but we LOVED them. They definately have great flavor! I used only 2 tbls relish and used green onion. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Made these over the weekend and were devoured. I too drained the relish, used dry mustard instead of the prepared and added garlic and onion powders. Hubby loves horseradish, so to him, it was the perfect deviled egg. Thank you Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 358) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Chick Deviled Eggs

A delicious deviled egg recipe gets a cute-for-Easter makeover.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States