Special Dark® Chocolate Chip Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
this was my first scones recipe, and it didn't turn out very well. maybe it was just me, but they were extremely dry on the outside and really wet on the inside. the taste was satisfactory but it didn't look very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummy yummy in my tummy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
OUTSTANDING, I love these scones, as the other Renee said, they are to sweet and rich for breakfast, but great any other time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
These were fantastic and easy to make! I've never made scones before, not to mention never made anything 'bready' before - this recipe made things wonderfully simple and the result was absolutely delicious. My boyfriend and I both love them and can't wait to try variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaeli
Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
These were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Took these to work and got rave reviews, the were easy to make and came out well. be careful not to burn the bottoms. the description for cutting was hard to follow, but I think I figured it out for nex time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Nanjing, Jiangsu Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
Used semi-sweet chips and heavy cream and they were great for breakfast. The powdered sugar made them almost too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
These are basically AMAZING. I used regular old bittersweet chocolate chips and Splenda, just what I had around, and they turned out really well. I would probably sprinkle them with real sugar next time; the Splenda looks a little bizarre on top. I am by no means a kneading connoisseur, so I had a bit of trouble getting all the dough kneaded together (felt like I had added a bit too much flour and that those chocolate chips would never blend in!), but I got it after about 5 minutes. (Nice upper body workout!) I sent these to my family through the mail, and they loved them a week later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2005
I made these for my co-workers and they LOVED them!! The recipie was a hit!!!!!!! I added some melted dark chocolate on top for all the chocolate lovers in my office. They loved them! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Delicious! I made these for Christmas morning brunch, and the whole family loved them! They were so easy to make, too. I used mini semi-sweet chocolate chips, which worked out great. Try these, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REBEKAHMO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springdale, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
I served these warm out of the oven...PERFECT. Moist and delicious. No need to add the extra powdered sugar. My guests adored them! And they were so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States