Special Cereal Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
I guess there is many versions of this recipe. The one I make is similar. I took it to work and my co workers all in the food industry went crazy over these! They are very rich but delish. It is: 1 cup sugar, 2/3 cup margarine, 1 cup light Karo corn syrup, 1 1/2 cup peanut butter, 1 tsp. vanilla, 8-9 cups cornflakes, 12 oz. peanut butter chips and 12 oz. chocolate chips. Using a large pot, mix sugar, marg, and syrup over med. heat just until it comes to a boil. Remove from heat and add peanut butter, van, and corn flakes. Mix well. Press into 13x9 greased pan. Cool. Melt peanut butter and choc chips together in microwave until melted and spread on top of corn flakes. Keep in frigerator. So fast and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
I haven't had these in probably 15 years. My aunt used to make them, but I never had the recipe. For one batch I substituted the peanut butter chips with butterscotch chips because that is how she used to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2004
You can use ANY cereal; we used a variety to use them up. There were Cheerios, Golden Grahams, and a little Lucky Charms. You could also use creamy or crunchy peanut butter. The batch we made we didn't have any peanut butter chips for the topping so we used 2 cups milk chocolate chips. I think it was peanuty enough anyway! I like that you can vary it so many ways. I bet it would be even chewier with thinner cereal like flakes or good with rice krispies too. It's good still warm but chewier when room temperature. I suggest cutting when still a little warm because cutting it cold was hard. The kids make this every time...it is so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
Very easy and very delicious! I like that you can use different cereals and it still comes out great. I teach pre-k and we cook on Fridays I can't wait to try this out with them. Thanks Cindy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
Super easy to make. I used Cheerios. It was a hot day, so I cooked the sugar and karo syrup in the microwave on medium until it boiled. It worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2000
quick, easy, and very very kid friendly. When complete It's happy kids all day, and adults love em' too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
I've been eating special K bars since I was a kid, they have always been my favorite. I lost my mothers recipe, so I found this one. One of the reviews mentions to add margarine. I tried it and it was too greasy. Next time I'll stick to the original recipe (except with special K and butterscotch). Also, if you don't flatten out the cereal in the pan, spreading the chocolate is tricky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
We loved it at my house. I'm not the best cook in the world, but these turned out wonderfully. I'm so glad we tried this recipe! Next time I think I will try it with Cinnamon Toast Cruch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
These are SO easy to make & delicious! They are a nice change to the marshmallow bars. Everyone LOVES these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
Easy and oh so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States