Special Cereal Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2000
quick, easy, and very very kid friendly. When complete It's happy kids all day, and adults love em' too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
These are awsome and a family favorite. I use Special K cereal and I replace the PB Chips w/ butterscotch chips. Try them, you will like!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
Great, easy dessert. Very quick to make. I left out the chocolate chips and peanut butter chips. They're great on their own. One important thing: Cut these in the pan while they're still warm!!!! You'll never get the knife through them when they cool off. They're still soft enough to chew, but very hard to cut! I'm glad I cut them beforehand!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
Delicious!! I made these with Honey Nut Cheerios and added M&Ms and peanuts, too. Try your own variation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
These are a great summer time cookie/treat because they don't heat up the house! So quick and easy and everyone loves them. I put them in the freezer for about 10 minutes and they are ready to gobble down! You can also use all chocolate chips, or half butterscotch chips in place of peanut butter chips if you don't have them on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
We call these "Special K" bars, for the obvious reason, at our house. My recipe calls for 1 tsp of vanilla to be added with the peanut butter. If your bars are turning out hard, you are over cooking the sugar and syrup. Once that mixture boils, I remove the pan from the heat and add the peanut butter and vanilla. I also use butterscotch chips instead of peanutbutter ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bird Island, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
I felt that the corn syrup in this recipe made it a little too... corn syrup-y. If I were to make it again I would use much less, if at all. The mixture of the peanut butter chips and semi-sweet chocolate was just right to satisfy a chocolate fix, and the cereal (I used rice crispies) gave it a great crunch. Overall, good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
I guess there is many versions of this recipe. The one I make is similar. I took it to work and my co workers all in the food industry went crazy over these! They are very rich but delish. It is: 1 cup sugar, 2/3 cup margarine, 1 cup light Karo corn syrup, 1 1/2 cup peanut butter, 1 tsp. vanilla, 8-9 cups cornflakes, 12 oz. peanut butter chips and 12 oz. chocolate chips. Using a large pot, mix sugar, marg, and syrup over med. heat just until it comes to a boil. Remove from heat and add peanut butter, van, and corn flakes. Mix well. Press into 13x9 greased pan. Cool. Melt peanut butter and choc chips together in microwave until melted and spread on top of corn flakes. Keep in frigerator. So fast and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
I've been eating special K bars since I was a kid, they have always been my favorite. I lost my mothers recipe, so I found this one. One of the reviews mentions to add margarine. I tried it and it was too greasy. Next time I'll stick to the original recipe (except with special K and butterscotch). Also, if you don't flatten out the cereal in the pan, spreading the chocolate is tricky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2004
You can use ANY cereal; we used a variety to use them up. There were Cheerios, Golden Grahams, and a little Lucky Charms. You could also use creamy or crunchy peanut butter. The batch we made we didn't have any peanut butter chips for the topping so we used 2 cups milk chocolate chips. I think it was peanuty enough anyway! I like that you can vary it so many ways. I bet it would be even chewier with thinner cereal like flakes or good with rice krispies too. It's good still warm but chewier when room temperature. I suggest cutting when still a little warm because cutting it cold was hard. The kids make this every time...it is so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States