Special Cereal Bars I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
These were great. My family loved them. My only problem was I couldn't stay away and I'm on a diet! These will be great for picnics, boating, and anytime you need a quick sweet snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
I used Rice Krispies instead of Special K cereal to make them more like scotcheroos and a jelly roll pan instead of a 9x13 to make them flatter. I suggest doubling the chips for the topping because 1 cup each doesn't give a whole lot of room for spreading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Everybody loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I'd never had cereal bars and I'd never made them but these were fantastic! Everyone loved them, I even served them to my knitting group and everyone really enjoyed them. Thanks! Oh and I didn't have peanut butter chips so I melted 3/4 cup of peanut butter and 1/4 cup of sugar with my semi-sweet chocolate chips for the topping - so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
These are an all time favorite around our house. We add whole bags of butterscotch chips and chocolate chips to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joyful1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ames, Iowa, USA
Living In: Zumbrota, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I halved the sugar, just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
I used up 3 types of cereals that our family wouldn't finish. Honey bunches of oats, kix and smart start (bran flakes), and they just loved them! We think they are especially good warm. I drizzled them with chocolate and only used the chocolate chips (no peanut butter chips). I doubled the recipe and I'm glad I did, they are already asking when I'll make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
Not what I was hoping for! I thought the Karo (?) made the cereal way too sticky and chewy. The choc topping sat on top rather than melting down into the cereal, which I didn't expect either. I did get a recipe from a friend for something similar, just using choc/butterscotch/pb chips and cereal - nothing else. They turned out great- nice and crispy. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
WOW! These are so much better than rice crispy bars it isn't even funny. I used a combination of cereals I had left over including Kashi Mighty Kids and chex. These are beyond addictive. I didn't have any trouble cutting them thanks to the suggestion another reviewer gave to remove the corn syrup mixture quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I have been looking for this recipe for a long time and finally found it!! I would suggest using more cereal, though, as when I used Cheerios, I increased the amount to 8 cups, and still had the gooey peanut butter stuff pooling at the bottom. My kids loved them even though, and so did I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vernal, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States