Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This recipe is very easy to make and absolutely delicious! Very easy to work with, too. I have decorated 3 cakes with it so far and all have turned out wonderfully. I followed the recipe as is with no changes. I highly recommend this recipe. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This is awesome. I use half salted sweet cream butter and half shortening for cakes... it's so delicious that my teenager keeps asking me to make her a batch 'just to eat with a spoon'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rayneboe
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I rate it 5 stars with the exception that you use REAL salted butter. There is a reason is is called buttercream! The best frosting EVER. I have used it to decorate several cakes and it holds up nicely. I really was not a frosting person until this frosting found me! Not too sweet or waxy tasting (with the butter!) I get so many compliments on it. I like using coconut extract to flavor it...delish over chocolate cake layered with coconut pecan filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PaG
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
It came out OK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I love this recipe. I added my own twist to it and it was amazing!!! thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I use this recipe for everything. LOVE IT. It holds decorations nicely. I also use it as my crumb coat, I just add regular milk to thin it down a bit. I have tried several other recipes and always come back to this one and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Moore Hale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
It's alright.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Don't even think of trying another frosting recipe--this one is perfect! Thanks to the hint of other reviewers I used half real butter and half shortening, and I think it's the addition of cream that makes this frosting tops. This frosting handles beautifully, takes like a dream. It DOES make a boatload, but it can be covered in an airtight container and the remainder used in a couple of days. You won't want to waste this. I received tons of compliments on this and when paired with my favorite cakes, well just let me say, happiness abounds. The addition of butter and the use of real vanilla extract brings this from a bright white to an antique white color, but I much prefer the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATYPI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
OMG! Best frosting ever!!!! I will be using this every time I need frosting. Never buy store bought again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This frosting was so quick and easy. I substituted butter for the shortening. It turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 940) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States