Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Shanda
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Well first off this recipe makes a LOT of frosting. Could make half of it to cover a normal cake. Second I had a bunch of issues with mixing the sugar and shortening together until "well blended". What a disaster. It was so hard and dry, so I just added the heavy cream before the sugar was blended and it turned out just great. This is the type of frosting that needs to sit a day to really enjoy the flavor. I love this recipe and plan on using it often....but hopefully no more disasters in the kitchen! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Ok, I am an avid baker, at one point had my own custom cake biz. that being said, this recipe is hands down the BEST buttercream frosting i have ever used. Followed recipe to the letter. Perfect! for piping and spreading both. If you are a buttercream lover, youve found the best ever recipe. Thanks for the post Rick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Patterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This is a great frosting, but do I need to refrigerate my cake now? I have never made a frosting with milk before and dont want my cake to dry out in the fridge before serving, but also dont want my guests to get sick if the frosting needs refrigerating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Great. I did change it a little. I used 1 cup shortening and 1 cup butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Everyone loved it... i did use 1/2 butter instead of all shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I gave my sister a surprise birthday party tonight and used the scratch strawberry cake recipe from allrecipes.com made in a 12 inch pan and this frosting recipe tinted pink. I used a French Vanilla cake too and cut the layer in half. I frosted the top of the vanilla layer, added some heavy whipped cream and sliced strawberries, then stacked the strawberry cake on this and repeated the frosting step. Topped the cake with the other vanilla layer and frosted the top and sides. It was sort of like a strawberry shortcake taste. The family raved about it. I've been doing cakes off and on for about 38 years and love doing them. I'll make a wedding cake for my youngest daughter's wedding reception next week-end. I love this frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
The taste was amazing! I used butter flavored shortening and it came great. This frosting is also great for piping. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Half butter and shortening and didn't have cream so used milk...yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
I used 3 parts shortening to 1 part butter. Great consistency and flavor. I received rave reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Best recipe I've found so far for frosting. I use 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening and it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 919) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States