Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
There are a million recipes for buttercream...well not a million :) I was attracted to this recipe because of the use of real cream. I did however, use butter for 1/2 of the shortening. The shortening gives a fluffy white texture (stuff inside a Hostess cake) but lets face it, shortening is not a real food. It is a manufactured processed item that survives on the shelf forever. Next time I make it I will try all butter and cream (hey! thats what is in the name!) and see how it holds up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LizzyReed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Perfect consistency, very very light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by TRE8JSE
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Love this! It tastes amazing! Used on a wedding cake - very easy to work with and easy to color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Shanda
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Well first off this recipe makes a LOT of frosting. Could make half of it to cover a normal cake. Second I had a bunch of issues with mixing the sugar and shortening together until "well blended". What a disaster. It was so hard and dry, so I just added the heavy cream before the sugar was blended and it turned out just great. This is the type of frosting that needs to sit a day to really enjoy the flavor. I love this recipe and plan on using it often....but hopefully no more disasters in the kitchen! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Ok, I am an avid baker, at one point had my own custom cake biz. that being said, this recipe is hands down the BEST buttercream frosting i have ever used. Followed recipe to the letter. Perfect! for piping and spreading both. If you are a buttercream lover, youve found the best ever recipe. Thanks for the post Rick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Patterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This is a great frosting, but do I need to refrigerate my cake now? I have never made a frosting with milk before and dont want my cake to dry out in the fridge before serving, but also dont want my guests to get sick if the frosting needs refrigerating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Great. I did change it a little. I used 1 cup shortening and 1 cup butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Everyone loved it... i did use 1/2 butter instead of all shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I gave my sister a surprise birthday party tonight and used the scratch strawberry cake recipe from allrecipes.com made in a 12 inch pan and this frosting recipe tinted pink. I used a French Vanilla cake too and cut the layer in half. I frosted the top of the vanilla layer, added some heavy whipped cream and sliced strawberries, then stacked the strawberry cake on this and repeated the frosting step. Topped the cake with the other vanilla layer and frosted the top and sides. It was sort of like a strawberry shortcake taste. The family raved about it. I've been doing cakes off and on for about 38 years and love doing them. I'll make a wedding cake for my youngest daughter's wedding reception next week-end. I love this frosting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 923) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States