Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Followed the recipe somewhat, but only used a 2 lb bag of powdered sugar and 1.5 cups unsalted butter and 1/2 cup butter flavored shortening. Tasted pretty good, somewhat greasy but I think everyone will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anp13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Only made 1/2 recipe. Used 1/2 Crisco and 1/2 Land-o-Lakes margarine. Came out just as described. As for the comment on If it doesn't have butter, it's not buttercream. I believe if you whip cream long enough it becomes butter, so technically it can be called a buttercream recipe. Definitely the recipe I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Awesome! Perfect for decorating and flat-out yummy. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This made frosting for decorating 36 cup cakes it held up well. I just think buttercream has come a long way from the crisco buttercream days and I just can't see this on a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Very good. I prefer half butter and half shortening but the kids like all shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA
Photo by irishfinn
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This is my go-to frosting, I love it! It's very simple, but delicious, and complements a wide-range of sweets from dark chocolate cake to pumpkin ginger cupcakes. I made a few alterations to the recipe - I use 9 cups powdered sugar and 1 cup whipping cream. This just works a little bit better for my needs and taste, but to each his/her own! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irishfinn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Anselmo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JGB
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
If your looking for the perfect frosting, you just found it! This fluffy frosting is superb! It can be put together within minutes, and can be used with almost any desert. I loved it and will definitely be making it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This was my first attempt at buttercream icing so I made this last night to icing two dozen cupcakes (Strawberry Cake from this site) and the Chocolate Cake II from this site. To be honest I was skeptical in regards to using shortening as I thought the taste would be off but I was pleasantly surprised. My son does not like cream cheese icing so I decided to give this one a whirl and he loved it! Other than halve the ingredients (as I read all the reviews that said it makes tons) I did not change a thing and it was an easy recipe, great for piping, and great tasting. I will be making this one again and I think I may take some reviewers suggestions and use half butter/half shortening to see how it changes the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Made this for my 1st attempt with piping & it was very easy to work with. Only change I would consider is using different flavored extracts according to what your topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 929) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States