Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by JGB
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
If your looking for the perfect frosting, you just found it! This fluffy frosting is superb! It can be put together within minutes, and can be used with almost any desert. I loved it and will definitely be making it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This was my first attempt at buttercream icing so I made this last night to icing two dozen cupcakes (Strawberry Cake from this site) and the Chocolate Cake II from this site. To be honest I was skeptical in regards to using shortening as I thought the taste would be off but I was pleasantly surprised. My son does not like cream cheese icing so I decided to give this one a whirl and he loved it! Other than halve the ingredients (as I read all the reviews that said it makes tons) I did not change a thing and it was an easy recipe, great for piping, and great tasting. I will be making this one again and I think I may take some reviewers suggestions and use half butter/half shortening to see how it changes the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Made this for my 1st attempt with piping & it was very easy to work with. Only change I would consider is using different flavored extracts according to what your topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
perfect recipe!! i used a tiny bit less vanilla and added a dram of strawberry flavoring, it was amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Absolutely loved the frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I followed some suggestions and used 1/2 c. butter with 1 1/2 c. shortening. I probably could have added another cup of powdered sugar to make it a bit stiffer, but that's just being nit picky. I made the full recipe and it was more than plenty to ice a two layer nine inch round cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian N.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Made a very good buttercream frosting. I made mine into a camoflage cake for my son's 12th birthday; he loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMAKNIGHT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Wonderful recipe! I have been using this recipe for over 3yrs now and have never heard a complaint. I also add 2 TBS of Wilson Meringue to help stiffen the frosting for decorating. I will not use any other buttercream recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Great recipe. Easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 923) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States