Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I used 1 cup of crisco, 3 cups of sugar, 2 tbs of cocoa powder, 1/4 cup almond milk, 1 tsp vanilla to make a vegan light and less sweet vegan version. I'm yet to try the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeriamG
Living In: Pompton Lakes, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I tried to follow the other reviewers recommendation and follow the recipe exactly. My blender wasn't big enough to use 8 cups of sugar so I only used 4. Even though I cut the ingredients in half, it still made enough frosting for two cakes and I still threw some away. Taste was great though. Not too sweet and consistency was perfect for spreading. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
great recipe i added imitation rum flavoring to it and a few more tablespoons of powdered sugar to balance out the texture and keep the frosting stiff. tho next time i think i will try substituting some real unsalted butter for some of the shorting to give it a smoother flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Farminmama
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
after trying multiple recipes, I finally found one that works great for decorating a cake. it set up to be the perfect consistency for piping roses. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
The consistency of the frosting was good, but it tasted really salty to me. Next time I would leave out the salt and see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Vogl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Substitute half butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Love this frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Lonero

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Didn't care much for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Amazing! Everybody at my daughter's birthday party raved about the frosting! It's a bit labor intensive but DEFINITELY worth it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
I used 1 1/2 cups butter shortening and 1/2 cup butter in addition to only 6 cups confectioners sugar. Eating the frosting on its own I thought, meh but when it was on a cake, WOW! It had just enough sweetness because the cake was sweet too. I will be playing with this frosting with different flavors. This recipe frosted a cake and 24 cupcakes and I still had some left over. I will never buy store frosting again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 955) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States