Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by M.Hooper
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Made this tonight using 1 cup of salted butter and 1 cup of shortening. Everything else I left the same. My husband FINALLY liked a buttercream that I made. He usually only likes Sam's Bakery kind, so this is very exciting! Thank you so much for a delicious recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M.Hooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I made this with the 1-1/2 cup shortening, 1/2 cup butter variation as suggested in some of the reviews. It came out perfectly! It really does make a lot though, so consider cutting the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
This is great, especially if it can sit for a day for the flavors to meld. We used it to decorate a graduation cake. It holds color beautifully, and holds up well even in humidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Awesome recipe!!! i decided to add some butter extract cause i missed that butter flavoring and with this addition i absolutely love it !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This tasted great but I had a problem with it being too runny & melting. I took some of the advice of other reviewers & I made half a batch and used half crisco & half butter. I'll try it with all crisco next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ♥PaliLuv♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
AWESOME recipe just as is! You can also add a bit of butter flavoring and almond extract for a more bakery like taste. Or cocoa powder to make it chocolate. YUM YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYHEN
Living In: Lincolnton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
The perfect frosting recipe! I have even used it to make cream cheese frosting with this recipe as a guideline substituting half the butter for cream cheese(more if you want a stronger cream cheese taste).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcy2of6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This is perfect buttercream. I used butter flavored shortening and it was the best. I put it on the One Bowl Chocolate Cake III recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I made this with a yellow cake w/lemon filling. I read other reviews and decided to use one and a half cups butter and only a half cup of shortening. I also used four and a half cups of confectioners sugar. Instead of the vanilla I wanted to have a hint of raspberry flavoring so I used raspberry extract in place of the vanilla extract. Everybody LOVED them!! They were all gone and people were asking 4 the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
I rate this recipe 5 stars with modifications. ile other reviewers I used a combination of butter and shortening because I find using all shortening to make frosting greasy. I also didn't use all 8 cups of sugar - I only used about 5. This is the best buttercream frosting not only that I've made, but have ever tasted. It is light and fluffy without being too overly sweet. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warsaw, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 909) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States