Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
So like many others I read the reviews and used half butter it came out perfect and delicious. It was also very easy to work with and this is coming from someone who uses genache almost exclusively. However I used salted butter, for two reasons. I needed a smooth finish you should never add regular salt to buttercream as it leaves the final product somewhat grainy popcorn salt would be the way to go. Overall this is an excellent recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Even following the suggestions of others - 1 1/2 shortening to 1/2 butter - I found this frosting to be rather greasy and soft, rather than buttery and capable of hcading a design. Not very good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonnie.d
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Awesome recipe! I followed it exactly and it was a big hit! Smooth, creamy, great for decorating! My new go-to frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JanMcD
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This is a great recipe, not too sweet and very fluffy if you beat shortening and sugar several minutes (I beat mine around 5 minutes). It tastes just like from a bakery. Try this, you will enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Excellent! I made this for my daughter's bday cake. Used 1-1/2 c butter flavored crisco & 1/2 c butter. Tinted to a beautiful shade of blue! Guests raved about how light and delicious it was! Had enough icing for a small three layer cake and at least that much left over. I froze the leftover for future use. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
If you are looking for bakery like frosting, this is it!! Per other reviews I substituted half the shortening for butter. Frosting is delicious, tastes like the birthday cakes from childhood! Very easy to work with, even for self taught decorators like myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tjrig
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This is the first homemade buttercream recipe that I tried that turned out perfectly the first time. I have used it on probably 50 projects throughout the past year and I could not ask for a better result each and every time. Some days I have tweak the sugar/liquid ratio depending on the temperature in my house that day but it still works like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Tasty! I used almond extract instead if vanilla to compliment my cherry chip cupcakes. Yum! I halved the recipe and used half butter and half shortening. It was a tad.... Melty. I might add just a smidge more sugar and less half and half next time. (I had to sub half and half for the heavy cream. That might have been my problem.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Sundman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Used 1 cup shortening and 1 cup butter. Texture was stiff enough for rosettes on top of cake, but not so great for the sides. Taste was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I did half butter half Crisco like some other reviews said and it turned out perfect! A great frosting for piping and decorating cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 929) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States