Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Absolutely the best!! Consistent each time. I do add two sticks of softened butter & half of the listed shortening. Versatile too. Have used is as a base for Pineapple, Lemon, Chocolate, Hazelnut and more. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leemm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I am dissapointed, considering the amount of ratings and good reviews this recipe has. I have noticed that buttercream that contain all Crisco or half Crisco and half butter will for sure have that Crisco Flavor and that greasy feel in your mouth once you taste it. So, like many other reviewers, I used 1 1/2 C unsalted butter + 1/2 C Crisco instead. This buttercream turned out TOO soft and TOO sweet. The buttercream looked good albeit sweet BEFORE the whipping cream but I thought I should follow through with the recipe. I added 1 oz of whipping cream and it became soft. Definitely not the recommended consistency if you're wanting to pipe with this buttercream. I'd use less sugar (2-3 C less), and 1 TBSP of whipping cream, if not any at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by THOM79
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Great frosting recipe!!!!the sweetness isnt overbearing as in some buttercream recipes. Will make again soon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THOM79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
So like many others I read the reviews and used half butter it came out perfect and delicious. It was also very easy to work with and this is coming from someone who uses genache almost exclusively. However I used salted butter, for two reasons. I needed a smooth finish you should never add regular salt to buttercream as it leaves the final product somewhat grainy popcorn salt would be the way to go. Overall this is an excellent recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Even following the suggestions of others - 1 1/2 shortening to 1/2 butter - I found this frosting to be rather greasy and soft, rather than buttery and capable of hcading a design. Not very good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bonnie.d
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Awesome recipe! I followed it exactly and it was a big hit! Smooth, creamy, great for decorating! My new go-to frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JanMcD
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This is a great recipe, not too sweet and very fluffy if you beat shortening and sugar several minutes (I beat mine around 5 minutes). It tastes just like from a bakery. Try this, you will enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Excellent! I made this for my daughter's bday cake. Used 1-1/2 c butter flavored crisco & 1/2 c butter. Tinted to a beautiful shade of blue! Guests raved about how light and delicious it was! Had enough icing for a small three layer cake and at least that much left over. I froze the leftover for future use. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
If you are looking for bakery like frosting, this is it!! Per other reviews I substituted half the shortening for butter. Frosting is delicious, tastes like the birthday cakes from childhood! Very easy to work with, even for self taught decorators like myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 932) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States