Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Love it, Love it, Love it!! I did replace half the shortening with butter and it was a hit. I have been looking for a kid friendly icing that isn't too sweet and this is the one! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I used 1/2 cup of butter, and although this has a nice consistency, it tastes HORRIBLE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
The texture was great. I should've read other people's reviews before making it; I assumed it was a great recipe. It tasted like mildly-sweetened shortening. Next time, I'll use half butter and half shortening, and see if it'll taste better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elinor3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Had a great texture, but I could taste the shortening so I wouldn't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kleobee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Loved it! I used 1 1/2 cups butter and half a cup of shortening as suggested. -Vanessa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I read the reviews and decided to do it exactly how the recipe is written. I did not care for it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
I'm a beginner at baking. I made it for my little girls 2nd birthday cupcakes. This was super easy and everybody raved about how good it was! I did tweak it a bit. 1/2 shortening 1/2 butter and 2/3 heavy cream and 1/3 sweetened condensed milk. I just made it for a second time for my big daughter's 7th birthday. I'll let you know how people like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maragos3

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Way too sweet, did not like it at all. But for those who likes things very sweet, may enjoy this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Fabulous!!! We switched out the shortening for butter, simply for personal taste preferences, but followed all measurements to a tee! Love this. Family favorite from now on!! We beat our butter for 10 mins, then beat the sugar & butter for another 15, then the sugar, butter, cream, etc for another 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duck Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada

Displaying results 81-90 (of 954) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States