Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I made this with butter (in place of shortening) and heavy cream. Half and half also works just as well. This is hands down the best frosting recipe ever! I quartered the recipe (using 1 stick of butter, etc), to make just enough for one 13x9 cake (not much for tasting, however), and added 3 tablespoons of regular Hershey cocoa (it would be 12 tablespoons if you make the original quantity) for a chocolate version. My husband doesn't have a sweet tooth, but even he commented on how delicious this frosting was! Thanks for sharing, Rick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GussieCakes
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Love this Buttercream!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GussieCakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
This is definitely the perfect recipe for consistency. I didn't have any regular shortening but did have the butter flavored shortening. I thought it was a bit too rich but my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
Followed recipe exactly and while the texture is lovely, it tastes just like sweetened shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
When I took over the frosting making in my family, I was 12. I had watched my mum and all the neighbor ladies make it and did'nt know what the big deal was all about! Of course there were no measurements except for "2lg scoops of Crisco or "fluffo" beat it until it looks fluffy - then start sprinkling in some confec sugar then a little milk -more sugar, more milk until the box (1lb,) was empty. Now 2shakes of salt and 1-2caps (from tha vanilla bottle) of pure vanilla,and finally beat it some more. Choc frosting was made the same way except 2-3Tbsps of cocoa powder was added. Try this recipe as is, and add vanilla or choc. as you like. Thanks for the memories! (This was enough to frost the middle, top and sides of a 8-9in layer cake)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alton Bay, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
Really good start...I have searched and experimented for a recipe that isn't sickeningly sweet, but will hold its shape for frosting cupcakes--even in warm weather for outdoor birthday parties. I used this recipe as a base, substituting 1 c. of the shortening with butter, and creamed them together until very light and fluffy before adding sugar. I cut back considerably on the powdered sugar (I probably used around 5 cups total), adding about a cup at a time until the texture was a bit thicker than I wanted it to end up, then added the salt & liquid ingredients (I also just eyeballed the cream, adding until the consistency was good). Even then, it was almost painfully sweet and a bit powdery. So I creamed 1 pkg. cream cheese in a small bowl until it was light, and mixed it into the frosting. The end result was sweet with just a hint of tanginess. The texture was perfect, and held up in 85F temps for a birthday party at the park.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I've tried a few different frosting recipes off this site but this is my favorite. Like others mention, it's great for decorating and piping edges. Tastes decent too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Best frosting ever. I went with all butter and got rave reviews. Consistency is perfect. 1/2 recipe for 24 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Followed the recipe somewhat, but only used a 2 lb bag of powdered sugar and 1.5 cups unsalted butter and 1/2 cup butter flavored shortening. Tasted pretty good, somewhat greasy but I think everyone will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anp13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Only made 1/2 recipe. Used 1/2 Crisco and 1/2 Land-o-Lakes margarine. Came out just as described. As for the comment on If it doesn't have butter, it's not buttercream. I believe if you whip cream long enough it becomes butter, so technically it can be called a buttercream recipe. Definitely the recipe I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 957) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States