Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Excellent! I made this for my daughter's bday cake. Used 1-1/2 c butter flavored crisco & 1/2 c butter. Tinted to a beautiful shade of blue! Guests raved about how light and delicious it was! Had enough icing for a small three layer cake and at least that much left over. I froze the leftover for future use. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
If you are looking for bakery like frosting, this is it!! Per other reviews I substituted half the shortening for butter. Frosting is delicious, tastes like the birthday cakes from childhood! Very easy to work with, even for self taught decorators like myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tjrig
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
This is the first homemade buttercream recipe that I tried that turned out perfectly the first time. I have used it on probably 50 projects throughout the past year and I could not ask for a better result each and every time. Some days I have tweak the sugar/liquid ratio depending on the temperature in my house that day but it still works like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Tasty! I used almond extract instead if vanilla to compliment my cherry chip cupcakes. Yum! I halved the recipe and used half butter and half shortening. It was a tad.... Melty. I might add just a smidge more sugar and less half and half next time. (I had to sub half and half for the heavy cream. That might have been my problem.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Sundman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Used 1 cup shortening and 1 cup butter. Texture was stiff enough for rosettes on top of cake, but not so great for the sides. Taste was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I did half butter half Crisco like some other reviews said and it turned out perfect! A great frosting for piping and decorating cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This recipe turned out pretty good. I did, however, use real vanilla and butter instead of the imitation stuff. Turned out great. When I made it, I halved the recipe to frost a double layer 9-inch cake, and still had enough to decorate it. This is a great multi-use icing, and I would definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Max Alvarado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sltush
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
WOW!!! This is THE best frosting I've ever made! My entire family loved it. You can totally use this recipe to decorate cakes.. you can play with the thickness by adding just a teaspoon more cream or vis-a-versa with the confectioners' sugar. I used this recipe to decorate both my daughters birthday cakes (used fondant on it, as well), and also created 16 cupcakes with it. I'm printing this one for my book so I can hand it down to my kids someday. :) A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I made this with butter (in place of shortening) and heavy cream. Half and half also works just as well. This is hands down the best frosting recipe ever! I quartered the recipe (using 1 stick of butter, etc), to make just enough for one 13x9 cake (not much for tasting, however), and added 3 tablespoons of regular Hershey cocoa (it would be 12 tablespoons if you make the original quantity) for a chocolate version. My husband doesn't have a sweet tooth, but even he commented on how delicious this frosting was! Thanks for sharing, Rick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GussieCakes
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Love this Buttercream!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GussieCakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 955) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States