Special Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
I've tried a few different frosting recipes off this site but this is my favorite. Like others mention, it's great for decorating and piping edges. Tastes decent too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Best frosting ever. I went with all butter and got rave reviews. Consistency is perfect. 1/2 recipe for 24 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Followed the recipe somewhat, but only used a 2 lb bag of powdered sugar and 1.5 cups unsalted butter and 1/2 cup butter flavored shortening. Tasted pretty good, somewhat greasy but I think everyone will like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anp13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcata, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Only made 1/2 recipe. Used 1/2 Crisco and 1/2 Land-o-Lakes margarine. Came out just as described. As for the comment on If it doesn't have butter, it's not buttercream. I believe if you whip cream long enough it becomes butter, so technically it can be called a buttercream recipe. Definitely the recipe I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Awesome! Perfect for decorating and flat-out yummy. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This made frosting for decorating 36 cup cakes it held up well. I just think buttercream has come a long way from the crisco buttercream days and I just can't see this on a cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Very good. I prefer half butter and half shortening but the kids like all shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA
Photo by irishfinn
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This is my go-to frosting, I love it! It's very simple, but delicious, and complements a wide-range of sweets from dark chocolate cake to pumpkin ginger cupcakes. I made a few alterations to the recipe - I use 9 cups powdered sugar and 1 cup whipping cream. This just works a little bit better for my needs and taste, but to each his/her own! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irishfinn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Anselmo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JGB
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
If your looking for the perfect frosting, you just found it! This fluffy frosting is superb! It can be put together within minutes, and can be used with almost any desert. I loved it and will definitely be making it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 931) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States