Special Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I *love* this recipe! I throw this together often, the only changes I've made are wholewheat flour, a splash of vanilla, and I use real butter & pecans. This always turns out SO DELICIOUSLY MOIST. Seriously, I can't get enough of this wonderful banana bread recipe - thanks so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marek

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
I have made this bread dozens of times and it is loved by all! I have made one change though. I use butter instead of the shortening! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Yummy..I forgot to save this recipe then i tried a different one and it was not as good. i sorted through others until i found it again..very moist and addictive. i love banana bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
Made this yesterday. Excellent!!! Husband told me to make it often. Everyone that tasted it loved it. I followed the recipe. The only thing I may try in the future is to cut the spices in half. This is a very moist and tender bread. WONDERFUL!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Best banana recipe ever!!! Even if I did forgot the baking soda~ The best banana taste, we all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I cut this recipe in half to make one big loaf. I made one substitution and used a stick of margerine in place of the shortening. This smells very good, like a combination of bananas and eggnog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
DELICIOUS!! it was very easy to make.I did make a few changes. use half shortening,half margarine,half white sugar,half brown sugar,added half tsp. vanilla. deb in nebrska
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomfield, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Finally found a great banana bread recipe. Mixed and baked as directed, didn't change a thing (why do people review a recipe here and then add all the things they did differently?) I found this recipe very tasty. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Great recipe! I followed the recipe as stated with the exception of substituting 1/2 teaspoon allspice for the nutmeg. (I was out of nutmeg.) I love the consistency of this cake. I do suggest mashing the bananas very well. If you like a lot of spice, this is the cake for you. Thanks Candace!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
What is the conversion of bananas to a cup measurement? I cut the recipe in half and used 3 bananas but it appears that there is too much banana compared with the dry ingredients. I wish recipe was more specific! I don't know how it will come out so I am giving it a 3 * for now...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States